Archive for July 6, 2010

Maria’s Taco Xpress

We made our first stop on our journey to find the best breakfast taco in Austin this past Monday.

Taco Xpress on S. Lamar can’t be missed (literally), while traveling down the busy street you see what seems to be a junk yard with brightly colored objects in it (kidding…well not really). The place is definitely funky and DELICIOUS.

I ordered a breakfast taco with egg, cheese, potato, and chorizo as well as a picadillo taco and horchata. Alex got two picadillo tacos as well as a barbacoa…and a friend ordered some queso that we sampled.

All the food was great, my chorizo breakfast taco was definitely the best I’ve had in Austin so far (crazy right, on the first stop I’ve already topped my list of favs) and the picadillo was the perfect blend of spice and flavor. The salsas frescas were full of bright flavors and a good amount of heat. My first time trying the famed horchata was faboo. It was perfect match to a taco because it instantly cooled down your mouth after a spicy bite! And as I was telling my dining mates, it had a distinct flavor that brought me straight back to childhood. I STILL can’t put my finger on the exact spice/memory I was tasting. It’s going to drive me nuts.

I wish Taco Xpress had another location because I would frequent the place…for now I’ll have to deal with making the trek down south for some yummy am snacks.

Onto the next…La Mexicana Bakery here I come!

July 6, 2010 at 11:41 am 4 comments


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category