I’m on a mission here…

July 2, 2010 at 5:45 am 7 comments

…to find the best breakfast taco in Austin.



photo courtesy of Maggie’s Austin

I know where to find my favorite taco in Austin but as far as breakfast tacos go they’re always just good…I want to find one that is GREAT!

Places I’ve already tried that are just good are Rudy’s, Taco Shack, Jim’s, Taco Cabana (I lie, these aren’t that good), and J&J BBQ.

The following are a list of places I’d like to hit that I’ve either heard have great breakfast tacos or through some extensive googling have read about their am treats!

Taco Xpress

Nueva Onda

La Mexicana Bakery

Enchiladas Y Mas

and

Taqueria Arandas

Taco Xpress is up first this coming Monday which we have off. Woot. I’ll report back!

Anybody in Austin with other suggestions that I should hit up???

Entry filed under: Austin Eats, Summer in Austin.

The Cup Maria’s Taco Xpress

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jeremya  |  July 2, 2010 at 6:44 am

    Don’t forget Don Juan’s

    Reply
  • 2. Kristy  |  July 2, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I’m a fan of Juarez in Round Rock. It’s on Mays, just east of I-35 at Hesters Crossing. Potato, egg, & cheese with their salsa – delicious.

    Reply
  • 3. Audra  |  July 6, 2010 at 2:14 am

    My boyfriend is from Austin. Don’t have any taco recommendations since I’ve never been but… I.. need… to.. go.. to.. Austin. It sounds awesome.

    Reply
  • 4. erynchandler  |  July 6, 2010 at 4:51 am

    Jeremy, you’re right. In fact, the thing that inspired this entire breakfast taco quest was seeing Juan in a Million being featured on the Food Network!

    Kristy, great…that’s closer to home than the rest of the places too!

    Audra, it is awesome here!

    Reply
  • 5. Maria’s Taco Xpress « Cappuccino Chit-Chat  |  July 6, 2010 at 11:42 am

    […] 6, 2010 We made our first stop on our journey to find the best breakfast taco in Austin this past […]

    Reply
  • 6. KatieB  |  July 6, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Greg and I did this with BBQ in Central Austin a few years ago and it was so much fun. Torchy’s is my go to place, but I also love Flaco’s on South Congress. I really miss my Las Manitas. Check out this article that got a ton of attention recently…. some places i want to try. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/10/dining/10united.html

    Reply
  • 7. erynchandler  |  July 7, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    Katie, thanks so much for that link! such a great article and now I have a slew of other places to add to the list!!!

    I’ve heard a lot about Las Manitas…tell me more!!!

    and now I’ve got to try Flaco’s on SC, the name just sounds cool. I’ve never heard of this place…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


