Archive for April 27, 2009

exploding polenta.

So the evening of our anniversary was…good. I came home and Alex had already mowed the yard and was cooking dinner in his apron that says “Alex” on the front. It was adorable.

Unfortunately we didn’t anticipate our recipe of beef ragu and creamy polenta to take almost three hours to make. whoospie. When it finally came time for me to prepare the instant polenta I failed to read the mention on the box that said, “Be careful, if the temperature of the polenta gets too hot (which it will since we’re asking you to BOIL IT) because it will turn into an erupting volcano of corn meal goo.”

Which is EXACTLY what happened. It was so very frightening. Huge, thick glops of molten polenta lava were spurting all over the place. At first I though, crap, this is going to be such a pain to clean (and it was), and then I started to fear for my skin. Because as it spattered onto my hand and elbow the skin immediately melted away. It was horrifying and I’m still waiting for my wounds to scab.

See that’s why you come to this blog…to hear about my wounds not scabbing yet.

Besides the food exploding everything else tasted good. Except the panzanella salad which we will not discuss…because it was a disaster and I wasted half a loaf of delicious ciabatta bread while making it.

BUT Alex found mini fruit tortes that were identical to our “wedding torte” at our wedding dinner. I have pictures that I will post tonight of them…but they were so delicious and so very perfect. He did well. AND I found a bottle of inexpensive Chianti from Montepulciano (a Tuscan town) that was sooo YUM.

Next year though…I think we’ll go out to eat. Because if this is any indication of what’s to come in our future anniversaries, well then I need to stay away from the kitchen.

April 27, 2009 at 2:58 pm 5 comments


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category