How our country’s maternity leave laws really let me down.

February 27, 2013 at 7:17 am Leave a comment

I really don’t know how to approach this blog post. Because there’s far too much to say and I want to say it with all my passion and I fear that it won’t come across like it should, like I mean for it to. So just know this, what I’m writing about I’m writing about with so much of my passion and so much of my energy. Because this is important. This is real important stuff.

Image

America’s laws about what first time parents are entitled to as far as working and paid and unpaid and how much time, how much precious time you get with your new, adorable blobs SUCK. They suck so hard.

I spent the majority of my maternity leave sobbing and sobbing and yelling and sobbing and curled into a protective orb around my baby. Counting down the days until I had to pass her off to someone else to care for her. She was 13 freakin’ weeks old, such a little nugget with no words yet and no sense of why that person that grew her for almost 10 months and fed her from her body wasn’t there for 9 hours a day, 5 days a week.

I’ve already wrote about it so I’ll try not to get into it all again…but it was heartbreaking.

If Alex and I ever have another little baby, which I think is in the cards now…because we can’t imagine doing all this just once, we’re already prepared for me to take at least 6 months off of work completely to bond and love and hoard that new baby.

ANYWAY, the info graphic here presents just an iota of what people need to know about how insufficient our country is with its maternity/paternity leave standards. Please take the time to create an account and sign this White House petition.

It’s important. Really important.

Entry filed under: 1. Tags: , , , .

Sometimes things happen and everything changes Oieeee I can’t wait until this comes in my mailbox!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Most Recent Posts


