Full Circle

August 30, 2010 at 11:08 am 3 comments

I’ve come full circle in a sense. As close to coming full circle gets in the situation I’m going to describe to you.

When I was 18 I was in the midst of putting together an art portfolio for getting into art school. You see, I only took ONE art class my entire high school career but then once I was a senior I announced that that I wanted to go to art school. And then I freaked out because I had no work to show for my artistic ability.

Soooo my lovely parentals signed me up for a handful of art classes through the Austin Museum of Art (AMOA) so I could accumulate some work. The first one I took was a life drawing class. Ok great, I thought…a still life class. um no.

What it turned out to be was a class where there were four of us that sat and drew the artist’s husband Dave, a man in his late 70s.

At the time I wasn’t well versed in drawing old, naked men. NOW I’M A PRO. I just remember having really sweaty palms and thinking, “Yes, this is about to happen.” But also thinking about how hilarious my friends would think it was…I was going to have the BEST stories to bring to study hall the following Monday.

So yes, I drew Dave and it didn’t turn out too crappy either. I remember his wife telling me I was making him look too fat with some of my lines, but besides that it was good. Oh and I didn’t draw his area either…rather pretended there was some awkward drapery there instead.

Fast forward 8 years a few months ago when I was having lunch with a friend and telling her the above story.

Her response, “Was his name Dave?”

Why yes, yes it was!

Apparently he’s somewhat of an Austin icon and is the most drawn, painted, and sculpted man in Austin. Odds are, if you’ve taken a life drawing class here in the past two decades…you’ve seen Dave’s wee wee.

My friend told me that they were having a “Dave” show that next week and that I should submit my work. So submit my work I did.

(mine is the black and white charcoal one on top)

I was able to find the small, charcoal drawing in a closet at my parent’s house, quickly got it framed, and submitted it to the show within the next 36 hours. It was featured in a small gallery opening at the Dougherty Arts Center in downtown office for the entire month of August.

Seeeeee Full Circle! right?

Entry filed under: Austin loves Art, Design. Tags: , , , .

Plaid Masterpiece Clawfoot Denial

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. malka  |  August 30, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    I know Dave. I drew naked Dave when I went to Art School at UT.
    I had no idea he was such a legend.

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  September 3, 2010 at 4:34 am

    That’s awesome Malka…another thing we have in common!

    Reply
  • 3. leah  |  September 9, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    SO funny! That’s awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


