Clawfoot Denial

August 30, 2010 at 12:13 pm 5 comments

I’ve longed for the perfect clawfoot tub for awhile now. Reading multiple design blogs on a daily basis doesn’t help as THEY’RE ALL OVER THE PLACE when I scroll down the pages of eye candy perfection.

I would like two (one for each bathroom), but would of course settle for just one.

I spoke to the contractor my parent’s habitually use this past Friday and everything he said about them was negative. They’re expensive, the claws oftentimes fall off of the vintage ones, you’d have to tile underneath them and all around them on all three walls, the plumbing would have to be rerouted to come from underneath rather from the side like we have it now, and our space may not even be big enough for one to fit correctly.

Shattered were my hopes and dreams.

The possibility of one isn’t COMPLETELY out of the picture…but the dream of having a clawfoot is becoming a little more distant. I think I can accept that we may not have one in our current home…a dream to look forward to in years to come perhaps.

We can still put down beautiful flooring and a rad back splash to pull the room together. I’m accepting the reality…BUT then I saw the below picture. Basically the same tub and tile I was dreaming of…damn you internet! Why won’t you let me grieve?

Entry filed under: Austin loves Art, Design, new house. Tags: , , , .

Full Circle I have an artist crush

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elly  |  August 30, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    This is definitely one of my dream home features too! They are just so awesome, and they look brilliant! One day . . .

    Reply
  • 2. g.  |  September 3, 2010 at 4:29 am

    I’ve always wanted one as well. However, when I stayed in a hostel in Portland, Oregon I had the experience of showering in one of these! I was in love when I first saw it. But then the shower happened . . . the curtain has to go all the way around the tub, leaving you with little room in the shower. The curtain actually kept moving in toward me and tried sticking to me! It was a bad experience. Since then, I’d only want a tub like this for a bubble bath.

    Reply
  • 3. erynchandler  |  September 3, 2010 at 4:35 am

    Elly, agreed!

    g, I’ve heard of this happening too and I think it also depends on what size clawfoot it is. I showered in one twice this summer and actually had a great experience…think it just depends!

    Reply
  • 4. tokenblogger  |  October 15, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Claw foot tubs come in all sizes, it just make take longer for you to find the size you want.

    So what if you have to plum this and that way — isn’t that what you’re paying him for?

    As for the tiling? Pish tosh! We have bead board from the floor up to about 4ft!

    Our tub is spaced so nicely away from the walls, too. The cat loves that!

    Reply
  • 5. erynchandler  |  October 17, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    thanks a lot tokenblogger, I appreciate the advice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


