Delightful Dishware

August 17, 2010 at 5:08 am 3 comments

I’ve never expressed on this blog how much I adore our dishware.

I fell in love with the set we registered for about 6 months before we got married. We of course registered for it and it was the number one item I looked forward to receiving. Of course, it was also the most expensive item we registered for…

Luckily we have some awesome friends and family members who bought the entire set for us and we’ll be eternally grateful! It matches the decor of our home so well and each time I use it, even if it’s just for my morning bowl of cereal, I still appreciate it!

It’s the set above of course…from Crate & Barrel. I recently came across this article on Apartment Therapy of a fellow fan of the set who had her heart broken when the set was discontinued…after she had finally saved up enough money for it. OH THE HEARTBREAK.

I too had the exact same fear, 6 months before we got married when we registered for it. I told Alex one day, “That’s it…I’m just going to buy it myself because I KNOW it’s going to be discontinued.” Thankfully it was not…until we received each last piece. Phew!

To the woman out there who lost her dream dishware, don’t fret, I’m sure a lovely set will come along soon that will be just as gorgeous. Meanwhile, I’m going home…to spoon with my plates, bowls, mugs, and platters.

Entry filed under: Alex, Austin loves Art, Design, Family, Friends, new house. Tags: , .

I need a Pouffe! Plaid Masterpiece

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gina.  |  August 17, 2010 at 8:22 am

    I have a thing for anything for the kitchen. My biggest problem seems to be drinking glasses. I have sets of them stored away as they don’t fit in the cupboard. It’s so hard to stay away from the kitchen area in stores. I constantly catch myself putting glasses into my basket and taking them out a few minutes later.

    Glad you share the same love for the kitchen!

    Reply
  • 2. Brian  |  August 17, 2010 at 10:40 am

    On Topic: As you and Alex know, I also love those dishes. They would have been the perfect addition to our house in Toledo… That’s a bummer that they’ve been discontinued. For other disappointed and plate-less fans of the Crate and Barrel set, I would recommend looking into Russel Wright. His work was clearly an influence on this set and while they’re a bit pricey, it’s also a true American classic.

    Off Topic: I stumbled across this blog today from one of the finalists on Design Star and I thought you’d likeee.
    http://www.thebrasspetal.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 3. erynchandler  |  August 17, 2010 at 11:08 am

    Gina, yes, I do love all things kitchen. I could spend hours in stores like Williams Sonoma and Sur La Table.

    Although, I don’t have a stemware obsession :-) But we’re all allowed to have our little quirks aren’t we!

    Brian, awesome, we are fans of that show. Even though we’re about 4 episodes behind…but I was aware that she was a finalist!

    I’ll add her blog to my reader, hope all is well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


