the day I blushed with foodie pride

July 21, 2010 at 5:52 am 4 comments

Saturday Alex and I took my mom out for a birthday lunch to Mother’s Cafe & Garden in Hyde Park. A place I’d been meaning to try for the past few years. I knew it had to be pretty good since it was a meat lover that recommended this vegetarian only restaurant to me.

So Saturday I got my chance. My mom and Alex both enjoyed artichoke and mole enchiladas while I had their mushroom, black olive, and spinach quiche with a yummy limeade.

The ambience was great, quirky and peaceful and the food was quality. I’ll be back.

Across the street we spotted Antonelli’s Cheese Shop which we’d both read about in Austin Monthly and decided to check it out. It’s an adorable yet sophisticated shop with great owners that really know their product. The service was impeccable and we were able to sample whichever cheese, salami, chocolate, honey, etc. that we pleased. After many oohs and ahhs Alex and I decided on a sharp cheddar from England and raw Tupelo honey. The two paired great together and I knew it would be a hit at home with some rice crackers and vino.

On the way out we sampled some incredible chocolate made in the St. Louis area with only the highest quality of ingredients. I forget the brand, d’oh. Upon trying their milk chocolate variety I exclaimed to the owner:

“Was this made with goat’s milk?”

She responded with a puzzled look because it was made with cow’s milk…however, upon reading the ingredients was informed that goat milk powder was also added.

Schwing! Let’s just say that eyebrows were raised while she uttered, “You have an impeccable palette!”

It kind of felt awesome. I can’t say that palette is educated in the wine area but dammit I know my chocolate!

P.S. Alex never believes me when I say I can taste goat’s milk or cheese for that matter. Says it doesn’t taste any different to him than cow’s milk or cheese. Which I think is crazy talk…having him standing right there during my victory made it that much sweeter :-)

Entry filed under: Alex, Austin Eats, Everyday Austin, Family. Tags: , , , , , .

Dear Giada, I’m totally doing this.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. erin :: the olive notes  |  July 21, 2010 at 6:25 am

    oh my gosh that IS crazy talk…can’t tell the difference, wha???

    I LOVE goat cheese. Definitely my over all favorite. Just went to a tapas place in Miami a couple days ago and ordered a baked goat cheese dish.

    mmmmmm

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  July 21, 2010 at 7:50 am

    yeah I don’t get it either :-) love you alex!

    images of baked goat cheese on fresh greens is making me delirious. Tapas rock!

    notice the rice/nut crackers in the photo. i’m addicted now!

    Reply
  • 3. audra  |  July 24, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    cuuuuuute. theres a hyde park neighborhood in austin? or is the restaurant called hyde park? theres a town in queens called new hyde park :D

    austin seems like a great city to live in

    Reply
  • 4. leah  |  August 2, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    That’s awesome! Hilarious- I love it. And congrats, by the way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


