Dear Giada,

July 15, 2010 at 9:13 am 2 comments

You’re awesome.

Love,
Eryn

My love affair with my favorite celebrity chef continues. I saw the following two recipes on two different Giada At Home episodes and knew I had to try them both.

We’ll start with the dessert item, because I’m wacky like that. I mean it was the first of the two recipes I saw on her show anyway. These blueberry marscapone turnovers (which I lovingly refer to as my mini pies) were divine. Especially straight out of the oven with some vanilla ice cream and nutella drizzled on top. I MEAN SHUT UP. nom.

you can WATCH how to make these here. Unfortunately, I can’t find the written recipe.

The second recipe was for stuffed peppers. I tried making these back in high school. And while I remember the filling being tasty I was disappointed with how undercooked the peppers were. Back then I didn’t have Giada to hold my hand and tell me to fill the pan 3/4 of the way up with either hot water or hot chicken/veggie broth in order for the peppers to get CRAZY tender. And oh my garsh were they tender. FALL APART TENDER. They tasted so divine, and the golden layer of cheese on top was perfect. For the recipe go here.

Now I didn’t follow either recipe to the letter. It’s just not my style. I think Giada would respect this as I like to put my own personal touch on culinary delights.

For the blueberry marscapone mini pies I didn’t use egg wash to bind them, rather plain ole water. And for health and mostly clean up reasons I decided not to fry them. Baking them was far easier and makes them even more like mini pies…instead of fried pies (OMG FRIED PIE. WHERE?)

And for the stuffed peppers I made my own stuffing of garlic couscous, fresh wilted spinach, sauteed onions and bell pepper (used from the tops of the bell peppers that I cut off), artichoke hearts, fresh from the garden tomatoes, and sharp cheddar. OH and don’t skip the basil sauce for topping, it really made them sing (sweet nothings to me). Tip, I used the rest of the marscapone from the mini pies instead of creme fraiche in the basil sauce. How very resourceful of me.

Both items were served for a dinner party we had that night. It was also the same night that Alex found a runaway dog right before the guests arrived. Good thing Giada taught me to prepare the food way ahead of time and put it in the oven when guests arrive :-)

Entry filed under: Austin Eats.

Something I need. the day I blushed with foodie pride

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elle Albert  |  July 20, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Hey Eryn! I’m throwing my sister a big outdoor party at a bed and breakfast in September, and I need your help! :) I really want you and Alex, and Taryne and Craig to come if you can! And I really need your help coming up with a menu for the party. You are so good at making interesting dishes that have the perfect amount of sophistication. Will you help me? What do you think?

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  July 21, 2010 at 5:55 am

    Sure, I’d love to help you out. You can send me an email at eryn.chandler@gmail.com and we can talk more there…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


