Something I need.

July 8, 2010 at 12:42 pm 5 comments

I dream of one day owning a craftsman bungalow with beautiful crown molding, original wood floors, and a stained glass window or two.

The above picture is the exact representation of the architectural/design elements that I’d totally adore in a sitting/living room. All that is missing of course is the stained glass.

I picture myself in said house with the perfect modern/contemporary furniture and home accessories. Let me tell you, the place looks great…in my head.

Homes like this in Austin will cost me an arm and a leg. Perhaps I’ll be ready for that sacrifice one day. I mean, just look at that nook of awesome!!!

Entry filed under: Austin loves Art, Everyday Austin, Fashion, new house. Tags: , , .

Maria’s Taco Xpress Dear Giada,

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristy  |  July 8, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Not that you’re looking to move (I wish I hadn’t, but I didn’t have a choice), but there are a TON of craftsman style homes in Fort Worth. I’ve drooled over half of them, I think, and they’re in the cutest historical neighbourhoods. I love the setup of the fireplace flanked with windows and built-ins. *sigh* One word of warning, though, since our (rental) house is almost as old of the craftsman houses I loved: you don’t want the original windows. Really. You don’t. They’re drafty and not at ALL energy-efficient. And ours don’t have screens. My recommendation would be a modern-built one in the same style. Then you get all the architectural eye candy without the hassle of an old house.

    Reply
  • 2. Karen  |  July 8, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    I think my dream house is probably a lot like yours! Unfortunately I live in an old stone house with all sorts of design elements that would clash with both the craftsman style and modern furniture. Sigh. Some day, when you have your dream house, you’ll have to post tons of pictures so that I can live my dream vicariously.

    Reply
  • 3. erynchandler  |  July 9, 2010 at 4:44 am

    Kristy, I’ve actually seen quite a few of the craftsmen homes you’re talking about in FW…on HGTV programs of course. Show after show was there during a period of time and I really had no idea those all existed up there. Very cool! I love me some historical homes!

    Oh and no worries, I would never dream of keeping the original drafty window panes, I do believe though that their are ways of keeping the design integrity intact whilst replacing the glass panes and such.

    I’ve seen many neighborhoods in the Austin area that have emulated the craftsman/bungalow look and feel with modern materials. And they’re SUPER cute, but to me, just not the same. I’m sure I’ll complain with buyer’s remorse the second I own one myself and have to fix one thing after another…

    Karen: I have no problems with you living vicariously through me. Pictures would of course be posted.

    and p.s. I’m jealous of your old stone house :-)

    Reply
  • 4. Nicole  |  February 1, 2013 at 9:19 am

    I LOVE LOVE craftsman bungalows too! They have quite a lot of these on Long Island (NY).

    Reply
    • 5. erynchandler  |  February 15, 2013 at 1:39 pm

      Oh I bet they have a ton in Long Island. I’d be oohing and awing all over the place!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


