Ever heard of a yarn bomb?

May 23, 2010 at 2:53 pm 6 comments

Well thanks to the city I call home I do.

Towards the end of April we noticed random signs and poles in our beloved city being wrapped in fantastic knits. Confused? Yeah I was too at first, take a glance below to see what I mean…

Austin newcomer Magda Sayeg has been yarn bombing all over town lately and I absolutely love it. Of course whenever I come across the crafty masterpieces I never have a camera on me. So alas I’ve had to grab some pictures from online.

I’ve read articles about her here and here. But just today was scrolling through one of my regular photo blogs and saw that there was something similar going on in Rome.

“Hmmm.” I thought and then something inside me just knew that they came from the same place. I love when my two worlds collide, that is my Austin world and my lovely Italian world :-)

My intuition proved right and after some light research realized they were indeed the work of Magda.

photo courtesy of Jessica Stewart, an expat photographer in Rome.

I adore the juxtaposition of old, monochromatic structures mixed with the bright colors and soft texture of the yarn.

Brilliant…keep an eye out for this gal in your hometown…

Entry filed under: Austin loves Art, Design, Everyday Austin, italy.

Spaghetti (err Penne) con Vongole thanks Great Grandma

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. erin :: the olive notes  |  May 24, 2010 at 3:19 am

    this is awesome! I love pop up art like that…and how funny it was in Rome and Austin! Maybe one day I’ll run into some :)

    Reply
  • 2. Erica  |  May 24, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Just saw your post on Jessica’s page- thanks for the info about Magda. I posted about her show in Rome (www.moscerina.com) after going to the opening, but while there, could find no info about her. Her work is lovely– here are some great shots from the show http://www.flickr.com/groups/illussoessenzialefestival/pool/

    so THANK YOU for leading me to her website!!

    Reply
  • 3. erynchandler  |  May 25, 2010 at 5:17 am

    erin, you never know!!

    erica, thanks so much for the links. i hadn’t seen too many images from her work in rome so the flckr stream was really interesting!

    Reply
  • 4. Elly  |  May 26, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    I LOVE this idea, I saw it a while back on notcot.org and thought it was super clever. Lucky you for having it in your home town :)

    Reply
  • 5. erynchandler  |  May 27, 2010 at 4:17 am

    Elly, yes we’re very lucky! and that site you linked me to is awesome, some really neat things on there…

    Reply
  • 6. gina.  |  June 15, 2010 at 4:14 am

    would love to go back to art school for an excuse to do something like this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


