I demand a recall…

March 25, 2010 at 8:13 pm 7 comments

…on all chicken club sandwiches that use the ENTIRE breast of chicken. Am I the only one who finds this horribly unnecessary (btw it just took me 22 seconds to spell “unnecessary” correctly, that word is my Everest)?

I recently returned from an office luncheon at Cover 3, one of the most consistently delicious restaurants I’ve been to in the city of Austin. Their Chop House Burger is, dare I say, the best burger I’ve come across in the city! Their cole slaw, parmesan french fries, and green chili pork enchiladas are equally amazing. But I digress, I decided to try and discover another favorite at this prized establishment and stumbled upon the Brick Chicken Club on their menu. If you’re like me, you like entrees with the word “brick” in the description…or “jerk.”

The waiter did an excellent job of selling it to me as well. When it came out it looked awesome on its ciabatta bun and all, but I was concerned, “damn it they use the entire breast here…I bet the bread will get soggy (it did), I bet it will be awkward to eat (it was), and I bet I’ll become full 1/16th of the way through it (I did).

When discussing how said dish would have been more successful with my coworkers I suggested THE SHREDDED CHICKEN CLUB. BINGO! When has shredded meat ever been unsuccessful, unless it’s smothered with too much sauce, or an un-delicious sauce.

Restaurants should take me up on this idea, I think it would become wildly popular and in the long run they’ll save money on chicken AND soggy/flattened buns would possibly become a thing of the past.

ew. soggy buns. ew.

Entry filed under: Austin Eats. Tags: , , , , .

Before & After fail The Cove, a must see!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. malka  |  March 26, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    You go! I don’t even eat meat, but wholeheartedly support the banning of whole chicken breast sandwiches. I’ve got my pen at the ready to shoot off a letter to my Congressman.
    Oh yeah, It’s Republican, Mike McCall.
    Well…great idea anyway.

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  March 26, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Thanks for your willingness to alert your congressman. Although, like you suspect, my idea of less meat would may make his trigger finger twitch.

    Reply
  • 3. The Healthy Apron  |  March 27, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    http://thehealthyapron.com/2010/03/26/biz-cards.aspx

    I posted this this morning! Let me know if it’s okay with you that I posted it! :)

    Reply
  • 4. Lori (Finding Radiance)  |  March 27, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Portion sizes are just too big at restaurants! My hubby and I often split entrees.

    I just want a normal portion of something. I don’t want to have to take half home and eat it again – I just want it once!

    Reply
  • 5. Patti Simon  |  March 28, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    I am with you on the Chop House Burger! I get the waiter to bring it to me without the bun and it’s the PERFECT meal for me since I have been doing the low carb, high protein thing. Their Allandale Salad is PRIMO too!
    Patti Simon
    Sky Realty Austin

    Reply
  • 6. erynchandler  |  March 29, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Patti, the last time I was there my friend ordered the Allandale and I found myself envious over his order. Next time I’m definitely trying that!

    Reply
  • 7. erynchandler  |  March 29, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    Lori, I totally agree with you about the gigantic portion sizes…they REALLY piss me off!

    people think I’m crazy when I complain about getting too much food. If you’re able to have self control and split your meal with someone or take half home then it’s great…more food for your money. But most Americans don’t operate that way and will finish the entire plate…thus adding to the nation’s obesity epidemic. ugh, so frustrating!!!

    Not to mention the waste that it contributes to. I see SO MUCH FOOD BEING THROWN OUT/WASTED at restaurants. I would love to pass along worthy leftovers to homeless shelters and what not, but I’m sure that would be an added expense, not to mention the added time that restaurant owners don’t want to deal with.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


