Before & After fail

March 25, 2010 at 7:05 pm 8 comments

Oh Design Sponge, when have you ever led me wrong? I dare say never…until today. I’m a huge fan of the site’s before and after posts. Basically they find a vintage or just beat up piece of anything and refurbish it to be fabulous. When I saw the the before photos of both instances below I was intrigued…but then found that the owner decided to go with the woolly mammoth look.

BIG FAT FAIL.

Who thought this was going to be a good idea? Also, I really want to know the statistics of readers who also saw this post and nodded their heads in approval. I will smack you, I really will. I feel like this is such a shame against the integrity of the original pieces.

I must go now…to form PETF (People for the Ethical Treatment of Furniture)

Entry filed under: Austin loves Art, Design. Tags: , , , , .

I love it when… I demand a recall…

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  March 25, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    Something about those “after” picture screams “Swedish pimp” to me.

    Reply
    • 2. Alec  |  March 25, 2010 at 7:15 pm

      Er… pictures.

      Reply
  • 3. Gina.  |  March 25, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    i thought the exact same thing when i saw this and though, “is this what is coming in style?”

    Reply
  • 4. erynchandler  |  March 25, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    alec: good call on the Swedish Pimp thing

    gina: no worries, 99.47% of the world would hate this!

    Reply
  • 5. erin  |  March 25, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    HA! I saw the title of your post and TOTALLY knew what you were talking about…saw these this morning!

    Reply
  • 6. Erin Coates (TheHealthyApron.com)  |  March 26, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    At first I glanced at the pics without reading…. But thank goodness I went back and read. I don’t think I will ever understand the whole furry rug look thing.

    Anyway, I got my biz cards in the mail yesterday!! Looking great! I cant wait to hand them out!

    Reply
  • 7. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  March 26, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Ha.

    I agree with you. Me no like.

    Reply
  • 8. Madge  |  March 30, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    Yowser. My taste level — on the taste-o-meter– is about a 6 but even I hate these. Maybe in Pee-Wee’s Playhouse.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


