fancy furniture

February 28, 2010 at 9:13 pm 4 comments

It’s no secret that I’m a HUGE fan of anything and everything Mid-Century modern. I’m always seeking it out online and in furniture stores. Someday I’d like to have a really stunning Mid-Century dining room table…but for now I’ll be happy with the two Mid-Century dressers that we have in our master.

Alex’s mom scored the dressers for him when he was a college student and I’m pretty sure she got them for FREE! I always knew they looked Mid-Century but didn’t know that they were true authentics until Alex noticed the Kent Coffey stamp on the inside of one of the drawers last weekend.

He did a quick google search online and found one of our exact dresser for $1500 on eBay. Schwing! And I dare say that ours is in better condition! The other one that stands tall is actually my favorite of the two, but I think they go so well in our master with the perfect wood color and design.

Some of our friends have already told us that they’d sell them, but hey, we work hard and we deserve to have nice pieces in our house. Therefore, these dressers are here to stay…forever!

Entry filed under: Austin loves Art, Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , , , , .

Fredericksburg, Texas Day Trip I love this home office

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  March 1, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Those people who would sell those are crazy. I’d rather have a nice piece of classic, older furniture than something from Ikea’s Bønkë particle board collection any day. Plus, it’d be wasteful to pawn it off and try to replace them with something inferior.

    And they’re something you could even pass down. I’ve made no secret that I want my mom’s super badass art deco bureau with ebony inlay when she kicks the bucket. She sighs and says “well… as long as you don’t push me down the stairs for it, it’s yours.”

    Schwing!

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  March 1, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    totally agree…funny how i forgot that if we sold them we’d have to spend some of that money on replacements. SO NOT WORTH IT!

    and i really want to see a pic of this art deco bureau now!

    Reply
  • 3. Elly  |  March 2, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    Oh! Those pieces are gorgeous – you’d be crazy to sell them! I think it would be nicer to surround yourself with lovely things, then to sell them and burn the money on something that won’t last as long.

    Reply
  • 4. erynchandler  |  March 3, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    Elly, totally agree, no wories…they’re here to stay :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts


