Austin Eats – Lambert’s, Leaf, and Delish

February 18, 2010 at 7:34 pm 5 comments

This past weekend was awesome. The Winter Games started (EUREKA!), we ate at Lambert’s (one of my top five fav restaurants in Austin), and I ate 3 chocolate covered strawberries, an $8 chocolate bar, and two gourmet cupcakes. You can’t go wrong with those combos…oh and it was Valentine’s Day, fun time had by all!

Lambert’s, an favorite among many Austinites, is located in the 2nd Street district and serves up Fancy BBQ. It’s located in what was once a general store back in the late 1800’s and boasts both charm and trendiness. I’ll skip to the chase and let you all know that they serve up what I think is the best mojito in Austin as well as the best mac ‘n’ cheese that either of us have ever been so lucky to devour. It was laced with goat cheese, cheddar, and other creamy delights with a perfect brown crust on top. Other things we treated ourselves to were fried oysters with cauliflower puree and green chili salsa, green chili cheese grits (my fav of the evening), Mexican rice stuffed quail on top of a cheese enchilada and topped with two quail eggs, and applewood smoked pork ribs. um yeah…..we retained a smidge of dignity by skipping dessert. I then lost all dignity again (but privately) when I consumed the $8 candy bar (purchased next door at Teuscher) on the way home…what?

The next day we rolled ourselves into Leaf to allow fresh spinach, strawberries, walnuts, and the like to absorb the gluttony from the previous evening. I ordered El Jefe while Alex got the BLT salad…bacon always knows best. The salads were solid but a bit pricey for a lunch item I thought.

Later we decided to follow suit from the previous day and dropped by Delish cupcake bakery. A good friend had been telling me that they were the best cupcakes in the city so we had to see for ourselves. I had TWO, remember TWO. First I had white chocolate cake with raspberry ganache and cream cheese frosting. SUBLIME. And I bought a black and white (chocolate cake and butter cream frosting) to go, it was also amazing and I loved the edible glitter that they lightly sprinkled on all of their rich delights. Alex’s was also great, he ordered the Mexican vanilla cake with Mexican vanilla frosting. SO GOOD. If you can, go here! I will now also dub it the best cupcakery in Austin :-)

Entry filed under: Austin Eats, Everyday Austin. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Just in case you were wondering what I was doing this weekend… snOw sNoW SNow SnoW

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gina.  |  February 19, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    where did you get those tights?! they are freaking awesome!

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  February 19, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    aw thanks. i believe i bought them at Target…back in May. I see great tights all over the place and always want to buy more…Target and Urban Outfitters always have a great selection.

    Reply
  • 3. malka  |  February 27, 2010 at 12:11 am

    I know this is sacrilege (did I spell that right?), but I’m not a huge cupcake fan. Your description makes me want to try this place though.
    Also, you look so cute in this picture!

    Reply
  • 4. Alec  |  February 27, 2010 at 4:36 am

    You are just ridiculously adorable… and that hosiery is spicy—though I have NO idea how it’s keeping you warm. I know Texas is, like, on the equator, but still… that seat looks cold.

    Reply
  • 5. erynchandler  |  February 27, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Malka: that IS kind of sacrilege, allow me to take you to some of the best “cupcakeries” in town and I will soon have you caring about cupcakes.

    Alec: I think my cupcake rush kept me thinking about the cold, steel stool. About 8.34 seconds after this picture was taken a crazy cold front blew through Austin and had me eating sand on the way back to the car. Not Okay.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts


