Hello Monday.

February 8, 2010 at 10:51 pm 8 comments

When I was a kid I related The Simpsons to a horrible feeling I would experience every Sunday evening. The feeling of “oh crap, tomorrow is Monday and I have to go to school.” The Simpsons was the last show we were allowed to watch before helping pack our lunches, making sure the last of our homework was finished, and getting ready for bed. And then HELLO MONDAY.

These days I normally am introduced to the start of a new week at 5am…awful. But then good because two hours later and I’ve already finished an amazing work out in the pool, I feel refreshed and ready for the day…for the most part.

What helps you guys out there?

I find that dressing up just a little bit extra helps. This morning for example I threw on a really bright floral cami and a yellow cardigan on top, some purple ballet flats, styled my hair, and applied the new eye shadow I had purchased the week before. It was nice to feel that much more confident about my day knowing that I left the house a little more polished than usual.

Something else I find that helps is having an interesting lunch packed (i.e. yummy leftovers from Sunday) or even eating out at lunch with a friend/family. Today I did both, I packed chili but then was treated to lunch by my mom…where to you ask, TORCHY’S yum yum yum. Except now my tum-a-lum is doing somersaults all over the place! Sometimes you can’t win.

Anyone out there have tips to beat the Monday Blues?

Entry filed under: Austin Eats, Everyday Ramblings, Family. Tags: , , , , , .

The Best Owl I’ve Ever Seen Good Change.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian Kirk  |  February 9, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    be thankful that you are not 1 of the 10 americans unemployed right now.

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  February 9, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    oh BK what would I do without you, always there to make sure I stay grounded…

    Reply
  • 3. Bones  |  February 10, 2010 at 2:32 am

    Coffee. That’ll fix anyone right up!

    Reply
  • 4. Kristi  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    COFFEE COFFEE COFFEE!!

    Reply
  • 5. Brian Kirk  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    @Bones & @Kristi i don’t understand the “coffee” comments…why would you not enjoy coffee every day of the week?

    Reply
  • 6. erynchandler  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    well i think…I THINK what they mean is that it’s just that much more important that they have their morning joe Monday mornings.

    …p.s. I’m being a smart ass :-)

    Reply
  • 7. Bones  |  February 11, 2010 at 3:34 am

    @Eryn i don’t understand the “I threw on a really bright floral cami and a yellow cardigan on top, some purple ballet flats, styled my hair, and applied the new eye shadow I had purchased the week before” comment…why would you not do those things every day of the week?

    :-P

    Reply
  • 8. Alec  |  February 11, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    The dressing up thing is something. When you inspired me to paint my nails, I felt so much more “together.” I still style my hair like a hobo, but the flashy nails help.

    The phrase “tum-a-lum” is adorable… but only when you say it. Or so I shall assume.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts


