Health Care Horror

January 28, 2010 at 6:51 pm 4 comments

Alex and I like most Americans have had our companies offer us new health care plans this year, and like most new health care plans out there theyr’e worse than the ones we had currently. We’re all now paying more for less, which is infuriating.

I’ve had a taxing past two days on the phone with my doctor’s office, pharmacies, and my new insurance company. YAY. If you were to ask me what happened with those phone calls I don’t think I could tell you, it’s now a blur of back and forth and back and forth and back again. I’m tired and done with what I need to do. I could possibly find better prices and more convenience elsewhere but I’m incapable of BS anymore and the thought of picking up the phone one more time and pressing ‘1’ to speak to the pharmacist makes me want to vom.

The bottom line, I’m now paying $100 more for three months of a prescription than I was three months ago. amazing.

Entry filed under: Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , , , , .

FACT Happy World Nutella Day

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian Kirk  |  January 28, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    we “americans” abused the system…the majority of the population doesn’t take care of themselves, & now we all pay for it. it’s not the government’s fault, it’s not our company’s fault, it’s the people’s fault!

    sure there are ineffeciencies in the system that NEED to be RESOLVED, but the *truth* is that it’s our abuse of the system & our OWN health that caused the problem.

    BK

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  January 28, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    well since i know that I’m not the one that abused the system…I’m still pissed. I’m on one prescription and go to the doctor once a year for a physical.

    We can’t look past the insurance companies either though, they’re pretty malicious and aren’t looking out for their customers…rather their best interest.

    I’m definitely not blaming our company or government, I realize that they’re both between a rock and a hard place.

    Reply
  • 3. Fajita  |  February 23, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    So, yeah. I fall into the group that doesn’t really take care of myself, but luckily haven’t managed to be a burden on the system.

    I would argue that you could go so far as to blame the government, but then you get into civil liberties / freedoms and what not. Because drinking, smoking and fatty foods are HUGE factors that effect many folks. And while the last 30 years or so have seen a huge crackdown on smoking and trying to deter folks from doing something that is BAD for them, one could argue the government should do MORE.

    In terms foods that contain things that are BAD for you, say like trans fats, there are some local governments have taken action, banning foods that contain trans fats (think NYC has done that).

    The government (school districts and such) have gotten better about removing foods that are bad for kids from being readily accessible, so hopefully the generations that are being schooled now are going to be healthier than my generation or the ones right after me.

    In terms of drinking, nothing wrong with that, as long as it is in moderation.

    So yeah, it is an issue of the people. But the government should do something to try and help the people understand that what they are doing is bad for them and in some cases outlaw it, as a non-smoker I don’t see a reason to not outlaw the sale of cigarettes, THEY CAUSE CANCER. But that would violate our freedoms, so why not just tax a pack of cigarettes so that it really hurts to buy one and use the proceeds to help fund healthcare or at least education programs to help young and old learn to live better.

    Anyway, not sure I really made a point, just wanted to throw some stuff out there.

    Reply
  • 4. erynchandler  |  February 23, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    ben, I agree with much of what you just posted. especially the part about taxing the crap out of cigarettes and the government “outlawing” unhealthy practices. In doing so we’d get another huge influx of tea baggers protesting how the government is taking away ALL OF OUR FREEDOMS and is turning into Nazi Germany.

    In other words, no one will ever be happy…so Obama should do whatever the hell he feels is best. he IS president!

    hopefully he’ll soon realize that he’s going to have to bust some major balls and become even more unpopular in a lot of far right circles and Get ‘er Done!

    thanks for your input…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


