Materialism is a tricky beast

November 12, 2009 at 5:23 pm 3 comments

I know most of us are like this. We buy something great and then a few weeks (or months) later we’re over it. It’s like, yes beautiful, adorable vase that I bought 13 days ago…you look great, but I’m over your cuteness and I need something else. Maybe something that I can put inside of you, perhaps some beautiful orchids or handmade poppies. Something to dress you up. Because I’m bored with you.

I get like this, with clothes (especially), home decor (more times than I can count), and much much more. I’ll be perusing the world wide web of wonderful things I can purchase for myself or loved ones and this wave will come over me of how much I NEED a certain item. Then I think about my bank account and how we’re trying to save AND how I have a home and a life full of amazing things already that I should cherish and be grateful for. And that is when I put my credit card back into my wallet and whip out a paint brush…or a pair of scissors, or any piece of equipment that allows me to create inexpensive art.

This practice is really helpful for me, creating something new that is rather cheap, but beautiful that I can hang or place in my home. Also you gain a true sense of accomplishment after YOU make something that you’re proud of and willing to show off.

For those of you that will whine on the inside while reading this, “I don’t have an artistic bone in my body!” “I don’t know what I would make!” There are hundreds of design/craft/art blogs and forums out there showing the inexperienced and non-Picassos of the world just how to make amazing things. For inspiration and know how, go to the following sites: Design*Sponge (for inspiration), YoungHouseLove (for both inspiration and step by step), Ohdeedoh (for “child-like” inspiration), or even decorology (for cute ideas).

Happy Crafting/Arting! I’m off to buy myself an easel for upcoming painting projects…

Entry filed under: Austin loves Art. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Purple Passion I thought Summer was wedding season…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. erin :: the olive notes  |  November 12, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    yes it is a beast…I’m so getting more into buying less, but QUALITY things. Just watched this fashion video right before reading your blog and she talks about getting good timeless pieces that you can have forever and not changing your waredrobe around and spending more each season:

    Reply
  • 2. Leah Gibson  |  November 12, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    that’s so true! and the non-artists like me secretly like to create and be artsy; we just need help so our houses don’t end up looking like kindergarten classrooms! you might have just inspired me! :)

    Reply
  • 3. KC  |  November 19, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    I’ve also found making things to be great therapy for not getting a shopping fix! And I agree that there are plenty of things easy enough for beginners- I know because I once was one, and am completely self-taught.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


