Betty’s Best

October 10, 2009 at 3:29 pm Leave a comment

DSC05806

My grandmother, Betty has been known for a lot of things…but mostly, for her cooking. She’s scrappy with a sharp, sometimes crass tongue and a love for NBA basketball. She’ll keep you on your toes for sure and will always surprise you with what’s going to come out of her mouth next.

I have sooo mannny fond memories of my grandmother, who we fondly call Nannie. I know it’s spelt “Nanny” but I have spelt it with the “ie” ever since I can remember. Most of my memories revolve around her kitchen, she’s had quite a few kitchens in her lifetime but the smells, tastes, and sounds coming out of them are always the same. I know her well for her eggs and bacon that she’d make us in the morning while she would just make herself an English muffin with heaps of butter and a cup of English tea. Other family favorites are her spaghetti sauce, eggplant parmesan (you’d swear she was Italian), potato salad, chicken noodle soup, and her holiday cherry bars.

She’d been talking about putting together a cookbook of her most well known recipes for quite some time. Finally, while out visiting her this past July I decided to help her out and created “Betty’s Best” using blurb.com. I started by copying all of her recipes that she wanted in the book by hand…we couldn’t find most of them and she had to tell them to me. There were many rounds of spelling and grammar checks, then I designed a custom cover and started using the blurb.com interface to build it. Sprinkled throughout are old black and white family photos.

The best part was all family members who were interested in a copy were able to go onto blurb.com after I uploaded the cook book to order as many copies for themselves as they wanted. She called me after she received hers in the mail and while she’s a woman that becomes bashful sometimes when it comes time to say “thank you,” I could tell that she was really touched and thought it came out great.

I’ve used the book quite a few times already. There were always a handful of recipes that I’d always be calling her for so she could rattle off the ingredients and steps to me, those include: her famous banana bread (secret ingredient: sour cream and banana extract) and her Continental Cake Frosting!

My mom is currently out in Scottsdale, Arizona taking care of her while she recovers from hip replacement surgery. As she’s old and has quite a few preexisting conditions her recovery will more than likely be on the slow side. She’s a tough woman and her scrappy side is bound to shine through soon.

Entry filed under: Book Club, Family. Tags: , , , , .

Austin City Limits Festival Our daughter

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


