Such a Scamp

September 22, 2009 at 10:13 pm 6 comments

So apparently our dog Saci majored in making us feel like complete a** holes when we leave the house to go to work. She always knows it’s coming when we start getting ready in front of the bathroom mirror. She’ll come in and out of the bathroom with us about 5348925 times just to check that we haven’t left her yet. Then, when I make the last go round and make sure all the doors are locked and the alarm is turned on she runs (tail between her legs) into the office under the desk and stares at the floor…or at us with large pleading brown eyes. IT KILLS ME EVERY TIME. When I didn’t have a dog for about 2 years before Saci, not feeling the ever present guilt for leaving her at home was the only welcome side effect.

We go through this every year. CORRECTION, I go through this every year. Where I feel that it’s a good idea to turn our one dog household into a two dog household, for Saci’s sake…not ours. I then get on petfinder.com and find the PERFECT dog in so many ways. Well 3 outstanding ways to be exact:

Picture 1

1) SCAMP, it’s name is SCAMP…that’s my second favorite word in the entire English dictionary, second to “scrappy” (because c’mon, “scrappy” is a damn good word.

2) THAT FACE. I mean it’s just so pathetic and cute and pathetic and cute.

3) THOSE EARS. The one up one down thing just adds to the pathetic factor and gives it about 48935 awesome points.

Then I started throwing the idea around in my head for real. Picturing little Saci and little Scamp romping around the backyard together, playfully snarling at each other, curling up with one another on the big dog bed, and Saci teaching Scamp the correct begging procedures.

Ok, SOLD. I want this dog…so I called Alex knowing exactly what he would say, and then he said it.

“I realllyyy don’t want a second dog.”

“But think about Saci, she needs the company, they would enjoy each other.”

“It’s expensive.”

“But it’s cute.”

“There’ll be more dog hair, dog poop, and dog messes to clean.”

“FINE!!!”

The end. (except not, because I’m going to start calling Saci “Scamp.”)

Entry filed under: Alex, Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , , , , .

If Kanye ran the world… Sweet Treats

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Monika  |  September 24, 2009 at 3:31 am

    Sounds like my husband too! Boo :(

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  September 24, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    they always rain on our parades!

    Reply
  • 3. Gina  |  September 24, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    Ben is the king of turning me down on new animals. *SIGH* So I feel your pain, ‘cept I have a zoo. Still, when I saw this dog, I thought, if Eryn doesn’t want him, Scamp needs to come live with ME. He would go so well with my four little tiny terrors. Alas, Ben says no new dogs.

    Joy Killer. :)

    Reply
  • 4. erynchandler  |  September 24, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    aww Gina, go get Scamp. The official answer in our household is no. So if you go get her I can come visit with homemade dog treats. Fun for the whole family!

    Reply
  • 5. Lizi  |  April 11, 2010 at 6:42 am

    hey there, I hope this isn’t too weird or anything (since this post is from a while ago) but I was looking for puppy pictures online under the name of scamp and your post came up. I was wondering if you knew what breed he was. He just too cute!
    Thanks for your time.

    Reply
  • 6. erynchandler  |  April 11, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Lizi: no not weird at all! Ya know, I can’t really say what breed she is because we never ended up adopting her.

    If I were to guess I’d say rat terrier, chihuahua, and schnauzer.

    But let’s face, I could be way off :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


