CSS Class

August 27, 2009 at 5:53 pm 3 comments

I’ve been prompted to start learning CSS. Something I’ve known that I should learn for almost a year, but have been lazy, and thus have put it off. With an extra nudge from a few employees we’ve started up CSS Class at work, compliment of Professor Nuut. Today is the first day of class, he has provided us with a CSS cheat sheet, CSS tutorials, and a CSS test. So far I’m working my way through the tutorials (very slowly) trying to make sense of each new step and example that I’m being shown.

I don’t want this learning experience to be a lot like the other self-imposed learning experiences I’ve had. You know how it goes, “I’m going to learn French,” so you download a tutorial, listen to it with a half-ass attitude, and let the idea of learning beginning French slowly fall to the wayside. I want this to be more like my Flash learning experience. I took two classes, practiced, and have implemented the use of the software at my job. I’m still a beginner and know that I should build on my basic knowledge…but at least I have basic/working knowledge.

My goal is to be able to use CSS in the workplace and at home. I want to build a website with it…once I’m comfortable enough. So, I guess, here goes nothing…

Entry filed under: Everyday Ramblings, Friends. Tags: , , , , , , .

August Food Finds Our future child

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elly  |  August 27, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    CSS isn’t so scary – I found the best way to learn is just to start using it! Also, tools are really helpful (like the firebug plug-in for firefox. It lets you alter the css on the fly so you can visually see what the changes so). Hope the css learning goes well! :)

    Reply
  • 2. Gina.  |  August 28, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    ahhh! i’m excited for you! I just started my html class two weeks ago and it doesnt seem so scary anymore…

    Reply
  • 3. erynchandler  |  August 28, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Elly, yes I’m definitely doing a lot of reading and then “playing” with the code. Although it’s not as fun as playing usually is.

    Gina, good for you for taking the next step…we’ll master the web one step at a time together!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


