Trailer Park & Eatery

August 4, 2009 at 12:59 am 4 comments

This past weekend was beyond productive, I crossed off so many things from my to-do list. The act of crossing things off a list thrills the bajeebus out of me.

DSC05505

One of the things I crossed off was eating at the Trailer Park & Eatery. We drove down to South 1st yesterday and parked in the gravel parking lot that also contains Torchy’s Tacos and Lee-Dee-Dah. I have been dying to try Torchy’s for I dunno…six months and mamma mia was it worth the wait. Alex and I both ordered two of their tacos: I got the Carnitas Pulled Pork and Green Chile taco on a double corn tortilla and the Baja Shrimp on a flour tortilla. Alex got the Jamaican Jerk Chicken with mangoes and the Trailer Trash (with fried chicken), both on flour tortillas. Each taco was served with a lime wedge and an individual sauce paired appropriately with each taco variety. There were water coolers close by so one didn’t need to order a drink, when all was said and done we paid $11.95 for the both of us. If you live in or around Austin GO GO GO GO to this place. We dubbed them the best tacos we’ve had.

DSC05508

For dessert we skipped La-Dee-Dah to try Holy Cacao which I had heard about in Austin Monthly to sample a few of their famed cake balls. Sadly, they weren’t worth the hype and quite frankly, I’ve had better balls…cake balls that is. I had Holly’s Favorite and we both tried the Red Velvet which left a lot to be desired. The Red Velvet especially tasted as if it had been pre-made and then frozen. A no no in my book, especially when you just had a rave review in one of the city’s most popular publications.

We’ll be back to Torchy’s for sure, there are various other taco combos I must try, including their breakfast tacos.

Entry filed under: Austin Eats, Summer in Austin. Tags: , , , , .

oh orchid beyond grateful

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren  |  August 4, 2009 at 1:42 am

    I love love love Torchy’s! Every time I come home to Austin a trip there is just assumed (and usually involves another on the way out of town). ! Their guacamole is killer too- get it next time you go- I promise you won’t be disappointed!

    I think cake balls are gross in general- have you been to Polka Dots cupcakes? They are delicious!

    Oh man, I have to get to Austin soon!

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  August 4, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    funny you mention Polka Dots….another place I’ve been really wanting to try. also on the list, Sugar Mama’s!

    Reply
  • 3. Lauren  |  August 4, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    I’ve been there, too… last time I was in town it was a cupcake extravaganza!

    I liked Polka Dots better, but Sugar Mama’s flavors, names and presentation were better. Their cookies are good, too!

    I think I am going to change my blog to fat and happy and only write about food… haha…

    Reply
  • 4. erynchandler  |  August 5, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    cupcake extravaganza seems like something i need to be a part of.

    next time you’re in austin…it’s on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


