cloth, canvas, craft…art.

May 31, 2009 at 11:16 pm 6 comments

A good friend is having her second child in July. I was unable to go to her baby shower a few weeks ago due to having my swim meet also scheduled that morning. We met with her and her husband this afternoon for lunch at a great restaurant in East Austin called Casa Colombia. The food was great, according to her husband, “it’s soul food for South Americans.” There I was finally able to give her the gift I’d been working on since returning from our Western Roadtrip. I saw similar pieces like this in an adorable baby store in Boulder called Poppy. Upon inspection I figured I’d be able to go home and make my own.

DSC05275

In mine I decided to depict a mermaid holding a ruby instead of a pearl…Ruby is a name they’ve been throwing around for possible baby names, so I thought it was fitting. She loved it and I was so glad she did as artwork is so personal and a risky gift to give.

Since this one was such a success I’ve decided that I’ll start making some more. My mom and her friend are planning a craft/art event in Central Austin around Christmas and I figured these would be great things to sell.

Entry filed under: Austin Eats, Austin loves Art, Everyday Ramblings, Friends. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Some firsts pattern parade

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex  |  June 2, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Good job monster this looks great

    Reply
  • 2. KC  |  June 2, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    That is beautiful, Eryn!

    Reply
  • 3. erynchandler  |  June 2, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    Grazie!!

    Reply
  • 4. Scintilla  |  June 3, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    It’s absolutely gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 5. Monika  |  June 10, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Oh my gosh Eryn, you are so creative and talented! I have not one creative bone in my body!

    Reply
  • 6. Eryn Chandler  |  June 11, 2009 at 2:44 am

    Thanks Everyone! and Monika I’m sure there’s some creativity, grab a paint brush and see what’s there. look at me…with my inspirational chit chats.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


