i really love…

April 20, 2009 at 3:07 am 2 comments

…having a fully stocked refrigerator.

dsc04594

And organizing groceries so every time I open the refrigerator I’m faced with pretty food. I know. When we get home from the grocery story we have a routine.

Alex hands me groceries as I neatly arrange them. And then I open the fridge and exhale in delight because I know that the next morning I can have a heaping bowl of cereal with strawberries and bananas. And a glass of OJ. Calcium is delightful in the morning time.

When the fridge is empty I survive on peanut butter smeared on crackers….for breakfast and lunch. Dinner will be creative time and I’ll throw anything I have (i.e. hot dogs and/or carrots) into a marinara sauce. Don’t cringe, it’s totally happened before. And I actually thought it was pretty genius.

dsc04616

So full fridge meant full tummies this Sunday morning. My parents came over, and while my dad helped Alex install a blind in the front guest room I made a quiche and bacon. MMMM BACON! We hardly EVER eat bacon, nonetheless make it ourselves and it filled our house with such a delightful meat aroma that Saci will be full for days off it.

As soon as I opened the packaging I heard the pitter patter of her feet and instantly found her by my side. It was actually quite amazing. Don’t worry, I didn’t give her any. I wanted to though, but I didn’t.

I do however, have a full mug o’ solidified bacon fat sitting by the sink. Any takers? If so email me your address, I’ll spread it on a cracker and ship it to ya!

Entry filed under: Alex, Austin Eats, Everyday Ramblings, Family. Tags: , , , , , .

travel itch. bargain buys

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  April 20, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    At the risk of Martha Stewarting-it-up, if you chop off the ends of your asparagus and pop them upright in a container (I use a quart container that once held Hot’n’Sour soup from a Chinese restaurant) with a bit of water in the fridge, they stay fresher longer. Kind of like flowers.

    That you can eat.

    And make your pee smell.

    P.S. I love your bowl of grapes. I would raid it like WOAH.

    “Hey — is that a giant hairless albino monkey eating our grapes?? Oh… it’s just A-Town.”

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  April 20, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    ya know what. mama lewey always uses that asparagus trick and i never asked why. I will do that as soon as i get home!

    hairless? last time i checked you had hair!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


