travel itch.

April 17, 2009 at 9:51 pm 4 comments

picture-17

It was almost exactly last year this time that Alex and I were jittery with excitement and anxious with anticipation for our upcoming 3 week long Italian adventure. It’s gotten me in a mood of nostalgia, I’ve been going back through online albums lately of our time there last year and how it was more perfect than I had planned. And holy crap did I plan. If you’re ever at our house ask me to see “The Binder.” In this binder I created tabbed sections and logged each and every detail of our trip. I had hotel and apartment details down to the renter’s middle name and favorite gelato flavor. I had restaurants in every neighborhood of every city that we were visiting that I was told by the Travel Channel and other bloggers that we should try. I even had key phrases I may have to utter at particular instances jotted down in there for the “just in case” scenarios. I’m getting organizing thrills and chills just thinking about this epic binder. BUT BASTA (enough)! This is about me wanting to travel…again and more.

Preferably it’d be to a European or Latin destination…but Alex and I are lending the American economy a hand during these “shoot me in the face” times and are traveling nationally. On May 1st we’ll be driving to Denver from Austin. DRIVING TO DENVER FROM AUSTIN. Since I’ve already complained to everyone I know in person about the road trip that hasn’t even begun I will complain to you all…again! Any good road trip suggestions? I really wasn’t prepared for these sort of adventures as a kid. If we went somewhere, chances are we flew there.

On the way back we’re stopping in Santa Fe, where we’ve already made arrangements to rent a cute little house that’s within walking distance of the city center. booyah.

I think I’ll be fine, I can do this. I’ll watch some birthing videos before hand and start practicing the breathing techniques. I’ll be fine.

Entry filed under: Alex, Everyday Ramblings, Florence, italy. Tags: , , , , , , , .

look at those gams! i really love…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. erin :: the olive notes  |  April 18, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    travel itch….augh! I have it so bad too. Funny, we’ve both been looking over photos from last year a lot recently!

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  April 18, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    that is funny. alex confessed this morning that he’s been doing the same thing!

    Reply
  • 3. Alec  |  April 20, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    I still can’t believe you don’t like roadtrips! I’ve always wanted to go on a southwestern roadtrip — I would “Freaky Friday” with your ass to make it happen… though Town would be very confused.

    Just splurge a little on some new music (maybe an audiobook… read by Jon Stewart?), load up the ipod, bring a picnic basket (perhaps some fruit, cheese, and a baguette?) Keep an eye out for adorable pie shops, funky roadside stands run by Navajos that sell jewelry with chunks of turquoise the size of your fist, and attractions like “World’s Largest Ball of Twine.” And don’t forget a sketchbook, yo.

    It’s the journey, not the destination (nothing against Kaitlin, of course)!

    Reply
  • 4. erynchandler  |  April 20, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    alec: that comment was packed full of great advice. i will definitely start hitting up some audio books. GOOD CALL YO.

    and the pie shop/roadside stands….we’ll definitely try not to bypass those.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


