Yesterday I had a mental health day.

April 9, 2009 at 6:24 pm 4 comments

And it was fabulous.

I decided to take a half day off work because my favorite blogger, who also happens to write books, was doing a book reading at BookPeople in downtown Austin. I had been way too excited about this event since February and even pre-ordered the book (It Sucked and Then I Cried) from Amazon. More on this later…

dsc04546

After I left work I did some shopping. I had the urge to buy myself some things. I just needed some new stuff. That new stuff came in the form of a green tunic from Target and a pretty laundry basket. Yes, even buying a laundry basket makes me excited. I thought to myself, “Now doing laundry will be just so much easier!” I’ve been doing laundry for the past 3 years without one, and whenever I transport handfuls of laundry from the laundry room to the bedroom socks and underwear go rogue.

Later on in my afternoon of “me time” I strolled into Anthropologie with every intention of buying myself something so adorable I couldn’t stand it. I found that adorable something on the sale dress rack for $29. And as I walked hopefully with it to the dressing room I had doubtful thoughts of how it would fit. When it fit perfectly I wanted to jump and down like a cheerleader on Red Bull. I fought the urge and strolled out with a triumphant smile on my face. I even half expected the check out girl to be jealous of my find…she wasn’t.

I also treated myself to a pedicure. Something I usually only do about once a year…I feel that that’s the amount of time my feet take to become gross and in need of some stranger to score the dead skin off my heels. (P.S. I am a fiend about pumicing my feet and really do feel that the salon folk breathe a sigh of relief when they see my well maintained heels). I tried a nail place I had never tried before…I saw it out the window and decided that I needed to stop there. My hour long foot experience rocked and only had a few downsides:

plus: the lady didn’t speak to me, which I prefer because I want to concentrate on how good everything feels.
plus: she massaged my feet and legs on two separate occasions.
minus: while massaging my feet and legs she stared into my eyes without blinking, the whole time! I had to think serious thoughts in order to not smile nervously. Also while this was going she would hold my foot in a way that I could feel her under wire with my toes. AWKWARD.
plus: she used a damp, steaming hot towel to wrap around my feet. it felt sublime.
minus: she made the side of my big toe on my right foot bleed. ouchie.

But my toesies look great and I wore heeled sandals today just to show them off!

dsc04556

So the book reading, it was so great. I showed up extra early because my OCD totally kicked in and I had to sit in the front row so I could look into Heather Armstrong’s eyes while she told me funny stories. The place really filled up and most people ended up having to stand. Heather read a passage from her book, one of my favorite passages that came from the chapter entitled, “If your wife is pregnant, maybe you should skip this one.” Basically going into grave detail about how her and her husband weren’t able to reconvene the “procedure” after natural child birth for a whole seven months after the baby was born. It was funny seeing bystanders’ reactions, the ones who had no idea who this woman was, especially if they had young children in tow. She also read her favorite blog post from this year from her iPhone. I’m desperately trying to find that post on her site, because I had tears running down my face from laughing so hard.

Afterwards she opened the floor for questions and then signed books. I was so beyond thrilled to talk to her about how happy her writing makes me and how we have twin dogs.

It was a good day, I drove home that evening with a smile on my face and freshly painted toes.

Entry filed under: Book Club, Everyday Austin, Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , , , , , , , .

new office space Do you like foreign filmes like me

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex  |  April 9, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    I’m glad you had fun Monster…though one question…what did you buy me?

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  April 9, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    it’s a surpise boy!

    Reply
  • 3. Leah Gibson  |  April 10, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    I have totally dealt with the pedicure lady holding my foot up against her boob! It’s absolutely not okay. :)

    Reply
  • 4. erynchandler  |  April 10, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    I agree, definitely not ok!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


