my dork.

March 29, 2009 at 3:16 am 4 comments

dsc01869

You know your husband is the cutest nerd EVER when he goes on a man date with another coworker to the Austin Symphony to listen to them play video game soundtracks. I’m not making any of that sentence up! Alex and his friend Bob met up this evening with video game t-shirts and headed downtown for a night out. First they’ll “man it up” at Hut’s, an Austin institution for the best burger you’ll ever eat and then off to the Long Center for some gamer music at its finest!

So I have the house to myself this evening! What to do, what to do?

I started by cleaning out the pantry. Wooo out of control! “Hey, it needed to be done!”

Then bought a tub of Peanut Butter Cup cookie dough from some neighbor kids I’d never met before. I couldn’t say no. “Hey I’m your new neighbor who’s too cheap to buy a tub of $14 cookie dough!” Those kids’ll get ya every time. I’ll always have popcorn, wrapping paper, and cookie dough on hand thanks to them.

Next I made myself some marvelous Chicken Coconut Curry and Roasted Asparagus. I feel the need to capitalize the food items because food is really important to me. And may I add that I left the Roasted Asparagus in the oven just long enough (with salt, cracked pepper, and olive oil) that the ends were crispy and amazing times ten, NO times a MILLION! I literally closed my eyes while chewing.

While I was still eating I popped in Mama Mia, my mom had lent us the DVD weeks ago and we never got around to watching. Ask me why we didn’t watch it two weeks ago when I suggested it to Alex! No need, it was because it wasn’t widescreen and he literally said, “I refuse.” SNOB!

So I watched it with Saci and we had a great time! It was corny and cute like all musicals. And I have to throw this out there because I’ve seen two movies in the past week where a wedding scene was dramatically interrupted and I HATE THAT! I can’t get over feeling anxious and stressed out for the person in the movie that would be thinking, “THEY’RE RUINING THE WEDDING!” ugh. so yeah, if you haven’t seen it…there’s a wedding interruption. Beware.

Finally I took a bubble bath with what was left of the luxurious bath bubbles and put on about ten different types of lotions and oils. Saci the dog sat on the bathroom mat looking even more concerned than usual. There could have been a number of things that had set her off. (1) I had Little Wayne playing kind of loud from the bedroom whilst in the tub (2) She was probably worried that she was about to get her first bath in the new house or (3) It’s usually her father that takes the baths and uses all of the luxurious bath bubbles.

So now I’m sitting here…contemplating my next move. I’m pretty sure I’m going to pick up It Sucked and Then I Cried from the night stand again. It’s a book I’ve been waiting for for at least three months written by Heather Armstrong, creator of one of my favorite blogs. I got it in the mail 3 days ago and really love it so far. I love her cynical/honest/hilarious/dramatic stories and think how lucky I am that I’ve never had to clean dog vomit off me, the dog, and the car while being 4 months pregnant and experiencing the worst nausea ever created by man. She’s currently on the book tour and I’m greatly anticipating her stop in Austin on April 8th. I even took a half day off at work for the occasion…so maybe I’m a huge dork just like Alex.

I bet he’s swaying to the gamer music as I type. Sweet sweet nerd.

Entry filed under: Alex, Austin loves Art, Book Club, Everyday Austin, Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

hail havoc Meet Percy, aka “I have a problem”

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. KC  |  March 29, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Um, your dork is really good looking!

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  March 29, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    haha thanks KC…he’s very flattered and exclaimed, “that’s a terrible picture of me!”

    lol

    hope you’re having a great weekend!

    Reply
  • 3. Alec  |  March 31, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    That’s not the most flattering pic of Town, but it is one of the funnier ones.

    I lol’d at “sweet sweet nerd.” The truth can be hilarious.

    Reply
  • 4. Kat  |  November 17, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    I’m a snob like Alex. I won’t watch a movie if it’s not in widescreen – it changes the whole experience and how you’re supposed to see a film! But Mama Mia, I don’t like that film in wide or pan :) Who knew Meryl Streep can only sing in a country accent?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


