hail havoc

March 26, 2009 at 7:26 pm 4 comments

picture-111

Yesterday evening in Austin and its surrounding areas was CRAAZZYYY! There were “beware of hail” reports throughout the day, everyone rushing to make sure their cars were under covered areas.

My mom called me at 4:30pm and told me I should leave work early as it was on its way and I had a small window to make it home. Thank Jeebus I did, a good 5 minutes after I pulled my car into the driveway it sounded like rocks were being thrown at our windows. Saci the dog flipped the hell out and didn’t know what to do with herself. I looked outside to see almost ping-pong sized pieces of hail falling all over the yard, bouncing about. I peered around at our neighbor’s driveways and felt super sorry for them as their cars were still parked in their driveways.

Unfortunately, Alex insisted on stopping at the grocery store on the way home because it was taco night and we were in need of Julio’s Salsa. His Acura was stuck out in the hail but luckily didn’t receive one dent. I’m super surprised by that one!

Hopefully our roof is fine, we’ll have to have someone check for damage…fingers crossed! My parents however, were not so lucky. They live 15 minutes south of us where the brunt of the damage occurred and had both of their skylights busted. My poor mom was home by herself and called me frantic because glass busted through the skylight and fell into the kitchen. Hail and rain making themselves home in the kitchen.

Coming into work this morning I heard that there were reports of baseball sized hail in various parts of the city and coworkers who had their windows busted in their cars. Stupid stupid hail. The National Weather Center even stated that Austin had the largest hail in the nation yesterday…wahoo!

The above image I got off an Austin news site of the crazy cloud formations from last night. I took some video and a picture or two from our house that I’ll post later on.

Entry filed under: Alex, Everyday Austin, Everyday Ramblings, Family. Tags: , , , , .

find us. my dork.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gina.  |  March 27, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Hi Eryn!

    I somehow, with the boredom between projects clicked on your blog from facebook. woop, but I love this image. It looks like sheer sheets floating through the sky. amazing!

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  March 27, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    yeah it’s craazyyy!

    Reply
  • 3. erin :: the olive notes  |  March 27, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    c.r.a.z.y! I can’t believe the way those clouds look!

    Reply
  • 4. Monika  |  March 28, 2009 at 7:17 am

    Wow, that photo is amazing!
    I’m glad your house was safe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


