wonderful weekend

March 22, 2009 at 9:09 pm 6 comments

Despite my weekend starting with a puppy peeing down my leg and my Saturday evening ending with me stepping on a twig that punctured my heel (that’s some THICK skin my friends)…I’d say that this weekend was everything I was looking for.

dsc04218

The number one thing that this weekend had going for it was the fabulous, I mean FABULOSO, weather. Friday thru Sunday’s sunny skies, high 70s temps, and warm breezes had perfection written all over it. Everything having to do with the weather and the fact that our larger tree in the backyard has vibrant green leaves everywhere has made me so excessively happy! I feel like the woodland creatures in Snow White, coming out of the forest with bright eyes, welcoming spring time! And to top things off I can hear Alex (right now) turning the corner with our new mower…it’s his first time mowing the lawn here. And he may be the only man I’ve ever seen mowing the lawn with headphones. He’s a slave to his tunes. And because he’s making our lawn look so presentable he deserves a big glass of icy lemonade and perhaps a chocolate chip cookie. Maybe I’ll even bring it out to him in an apron with a fresh face of make up and heels. Except I wouldn’t even attempt to wear heels right now due to my foot wound that I keep telling everyone about…my HEEL, a twig went through my heel!

It all happened Saturday evening, we were at my parent’s house and had just had a great Italian meal with vino and decided to enjoy the rest of the sunny day with a friendly game of croquet. I know. We love our croquet, I almost wish that we had all white linens and sweater vests to wear whilst playing, but we do not. Since it was so beautiful outside and I was feeling a little like Huck Finn I decided to forego the flip flops. Ten minutes into our first game of croquet I fell to the ground with an injury. A twig to the foot.

Notice: barefoot croquet playing is dangerous!

The rest of this Sunday will be spent running off the burger and custard we had a few hours ago. Oh yeah, we just found a new burger “joint” a few minutes from this house that made this weekend even more SUPER DUPER!!! Except now I’m pinching stomach fat and making plans to run this evening and even to go to the morning practice for swimming tomorrow. The morning practices start at 5:30am *I may hate myself tomorrow* and have a larger group of faster swimmers. I was told I need to challenge myself more since the evening practices I still go to three times a week are becoming easier and easier by the week. I really do have plans of going, come 5am when the alarm goes off tomorrow morning we’ll see what really transpires.

I will report back with the outcome!

Entry filed under: Alex, Austin Eats, Everyday Austin, Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

paper pleasures I went.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. erin :: the olive notes  |  March 23, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    i love reading your posts! but…i definitely was wanting some SXSW reports on here…or are you steering clear of the crowds?

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  March 23, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    We went to one concert RIGHT before SXSW this year. us not attending this year had a lot to do with not wanting to pay for the expensive wrist bands, not being able to take vacay days to go to the free (packed) shows, and my company not exhibiting this year at the SXSW interactive show.

    so we were a bunch of losers this year….”next year”, that’s what we keep telling ourselves!

    Reply
  • 3. erynchandler  |  March 23, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    everybody please note that Alex thinks that this is a horrible picture of him. He wants me to let everyone know that the reason his socks are pulled up so high was to avoid mosquito bites…on that part of his leg/ankle.

    Reply
  • 4. Lauren  |  March 24, 2009 at 12:00 am

    what is the burger place? those details need to be included!

    Reply
  • 5. erynchandler  |  March 24, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Laren, I know…..I got really lazy and didn’t feel like linking it. But it’s called Freddy’s Fozen Custard:

    http://www.freddysfrozencustard.com/

    the location we go to is on 1431 near 183-A

    Reply
  • 6. Alec  |  March 24, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    That picture of Town is awesome… I bet he was jamming to Jamiroquai. He loves the grass with a little L…

    And my bro also mows the lawn with headphones on. I think he runs on Daft Punk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


