spring time trip

March 12, 2009 at 5:51 pm 2 comments

We’re planning a roadtrip for the very beginning of May. I for one, loathe road trips. Countless hours in a car, your body aches, the constant anticipation of wanting to arrive, etc… I guess my feelings towards road trips can be attributed to my childhood. I grew up in a house where we would just fly everywhere. My dad didn’t like putting the miles on the car…so SouthWest and American Airlines would, in the end, benefit.

Alex, however, grew up with cross country road trips from Ohio to Alabama being the norm. He has driven to almost every state (I’m using “almost” loosely here) on the Eastern Seaboard. So since we’re in a recession, we just bought a house, and we’d like to save funds for when we actually get to our final destination…he wins.

picture-13

I’m bracing myself for the 14 hour ride ahead from Austin to….DENVER! We have a good friend there that we met while studying in Florence who has offered to put us up for a few evenings as well as show us the sites. I’ve only flown into to Denver when I was about 13 years old for a family vacation in nearby Estes Park. So it’ll be nice to discover this city together…as well as closeby Boulder which I hear does not disappoint!

On the way back from Denver we recently decided to make a two day stop or so in Santa Fe. Again, another city we’ve both heard great things about. So why not. We plan to relax there with perhaps a spa treatment, a hike or two, and some window shopping.

picture-2

We’ve done a fair amount of research on Denver sites and sounds…and feel that we have a good list of “to do’s.” However, we haven’t started the research on Santa Fe. Any suggestions out there?

Entry filed under: Everyday Ramblings, Family. Tags: , , , , , .

the dog is conspiring against me drawer do-over

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  March 12, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    I’ve always wanted to go to Santa Fe… well, always as in “within the past five years.” But I think you should definitely pack some comfy shoes — they apparently have great hiking out there.

    There’s also the Georgia O’Keefe Museum… I bet she painted a lot of succulents. Check this out, dearie, for some thrifty options.

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  March 13, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    comfy shoes, check!

    thanks for the article. i jotted down a variety of his suggestions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


