scrumptious succulents

March 4, 2009 at 7:24 pm 9 comments

picture-11

We’re looking to landscape our front yard this spring! We’ll leave the backyard for next year…just not in the budget right now! I’ll blame our lack of flower beds and walkways in the back on the economy. So not only is my 401K suffering, but so is my foliage.

Anywho, we’re going for the southwest theme in the front. It’s all about the xeriscaping and the SUCCULENTS. I don’t know where my obsession of plump/sturdy plants originated. But everytime I come across them lately I have to sigh with pleasure and if not too prickly reach out and touch. I apparently never learned my lesson after falling into a slew of prickly pear cacti when I was about 6 or 7. I just remember lying stomach down on the carpet and my mom picking the cacti needles out one by one. Le suck.

Of course succulents are some of the more expensive plants…but I don’t care. I need them badly! I’m also learning all about the different varieties. Who knew there were so many varieties of agave and aloe vera, it’s mind boggling. And being in central Texas is a big plus…every development/storefront seems to have the same ideas as us. So there are dozens of locations we come across on a daily basis where we can see other’s creative xeriscaping.

I’m a little nervous about over watering them. It’s something I’ve had trouble with in the past. When in doubt, I water…not the case with succulents though. They say in the summer to water them once (maybe twice) a week, and even less in the winter. Someone will have to hide the watering can from me. Killing expensive plants would make me so sad.

Entry filed under: Everyday Ramblings, new house. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Suhweet! Quest Crew from America’s Best Dance Crew Cupcake Coma!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leah Gibson  |  March 4, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Haha. Matt and I suck at everything gardens. Our whole yard almost died last summer. :) Eventually when I start to care, I will have to get some help from you!

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  March 4, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    i have a knack for killing things at times too. i’m going to have to do some serious research to keep everything alive this time. wish me luck. once i master it, i’ll call ya up!

    Reply
  • 3. KC  |  March 5, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Good luck with the succulents! The ones in the photo are beautiful. I was always very good at killing them too.

    Reply
  • 4. erynchandler  |  March 5, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    Thanks KC…i know, aren’t they gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 5. Alec  |  March 5, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    I just remembered that Mama B used to keep “Hens ‘n’ Chickens” in our old garden — if those dudes can thrive in a temperate Northeastern climate, I’m sure you’ll do fine in the wild West.

    I wish that I could help you garden. I’d bring some squishy knee pads and giant sunhats, as we are delicate flowers ourselves. Town could make us some fresh lemonade… or Country Time. Hell — Kool Aid works, too. I’m not really that particular.

    The white and pale green ones in that pic are my fave… the white one is begging to be painted on canvas… I’m lookin’ at YOU.

    Reply
  • 6. erynchandler  |  March 7, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    um alec, so get this. we were at the nursery yesterday and the crazy lady that was helping us found a hidden “Hen ‘n’ Chicken.” I was so confused…what an obscure name….now we have one in a pot in the front. horray!

    Reply
  • 7. Alec  |  March 8, 2009 at 12:02 am

    Nice! It’s probably best that you keep it on that pot for now — I hear they can be rather invasive. Mama B used them as sort of ground cover for empty spots in the garden at the old house.

    Reply
  • 8. erynchandler  |  March 8, 2009 at 4:27 am

    is it weird that I got excited when you metioned they were invasive…and had an urge to go plant it in the ground?

    Reply
  • 9. Alec  |  March 8, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Hahaha — not weird at all. Definitely an economical solution to populating your yard with succulents!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


