Snappity Doo – Blog Challenge 2 – College

February 19, 2009 at 7:30 pm 5 comments

My college experience was so great.

picture-18Those four years flew by and so much happened within to ever recount. It was a time of new people, new experiences, cold Ohio winters, art projects, studying abroad, and becoming a better version of myself. The person I came to Bowling Green, Ohio as was not the person I emerged four years later as. I came out of college smarter, more confident, more prepared for life’s challenges, and with eyes wide open.

It was also at college where I literally forgot how to study. In high school I studied so dutifully for each and every test and quiz and would come out victorious with my ‘A’. Freshman year went pretty much the same way for me, but come sophomore year and all the art projects and papers I was writing instead of tests that I was taking…I literally could not and would not study. I would pretend to, deem it pointless, and settle for the ‘B.’

It was at college where I said goodbye to old toxic friendships and said hello to friends that allowed me to be myself without pettiness and too much drama. There was still a good amount of drama. It was also the place where I did things that were totally out of character, like put a frozen salmon under some guy’s bed that was the world’s biggest arse. Or go out every Thursday, Friday, and Saturday to bars and frat parties (such a departure from who I was in high school and who I am now).

Since there’s so much to say about my transformation in college and am now quite sure how to say it I’ll just end this with…it was a good time. A time that I wish sometimes I could go back to. I had at least 20 friends within a 3 mile radius of eachother and pretty much always had something to do. I miss the friend thing. Now it’s a lot more work, a lot more planning ahead, and a lot more expensive. The days of beer pong, flip cup, and corn hole are over.

Being grown up and on your own is good though. Never again will I have to settle for Natty Light or 8am classes or professors that BS their way through the semester. Instead I’ll go to work, make a living, sip my moderately priced wine, and spend time with my husband who gives me whatever I want :-)

Entry filed under: Alex, Everyday Ramblings, Florence, Friends. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Snappity Doo – Blog Challenge 2 – Books Snappity Doo – Blog Challenge 2 – Spring

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  February 20, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    Putting a frozen salmon under some guy’s bed?

    My new goal in life is to never ever EVER get on your bad side.

    You played a game called “corn hole?” Man, I don’t care what Town says, Ohio is the midwest.

    Reply
  • 2. Alex  |  February 20, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Hey not all of us played said hole…i did once or twice but it was at eryns.. i blame her

    Reply
  • 3. erynchandler  |  February 20, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    i would never put another salmon underneath someone’s bed again! he was a turd though….he found out it was me the next semester. i bought him a keg to show how “sorry” i was.

    and OHIO IS SO MIDWEST. although cornhole is known nationwide….in less civilized areas i guess :-)

    Reply
  • 4. Lauren  |  February 20, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    yes, cornhole is known in uncivilized areas… like oklahoma and east texas.

    i totally forgot about that salmon story! too funny.. and i have definitely secondhand told that one…

    Reply
  • 5. Kristi  |  February 24, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    I hate how a 4 miles turned into hundreds of miles. I miss my bestie…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Most Recent Posts


