Valentines Day / Austin Eats – Olivia

February 17, 2009 at 3:06 pm 3 comments

Alex and I woke up early on Valentines Day to go to Sweathearts Day. It’s an annual thing where my mom does jazzercise, you bring in your significant other for free every February 14th. My mom is a workout queen who goes to jazzercise pretty much everyday…this makes me happy!

Anyway, Alex has been a great sport for three years in a row now and jazzes it up with middle aged women. As an added bonus this year my brother and his fiance came as well!

We had a great hour long workout and started our day off super healthy…two days later and I’ll punch any fool who tries to touch my calves, they ache so bad!

picture-32

Above is a picture of all five of us as well as two of the instructors! My mom has a crush on Rodney…third from the left!

The rest of the day was spent recovering from our rigorous workout and preparing ourselves for the pleasures that awaited our taste buds at Olivia. Anyone who reads this blog remembers my anticipated excitement for this place! Well let me just tell you that it did not disappoint in the least. I’d put it down as one of the best meals I’ve ever had in Austin. From the modern architecture/decor down to the wait staff this place was superb.

picture-22

And oh yeah, the food was freakin’ fabulous! We started our meal with an amouse buche of striped sea bass and a citrus salad (yum). Then I had quail bites for my appetizer (honey glazed quail) with a zucchini salad with capers. A prosciutto/pomegranate salad. To cleanse my palette before the main course they brought out a divine grapefruit/champagne sorbet. For an entree we both ordered the filet and by george it was probably the best piece of beef I’ve ever devoured…it was accompanied by soft polenta, roasted mushrooms, and an amazing balsamic demi-glace. AHHHHH PERFECTION. For dessert (they brought us three because we’re extra cool) we had a piece of chocolate cake with a pomegranate roasted pear and strawberry semifreddo between basil/mint focaccia. It sounds weird but it was brilliant!

On the way out each couple was given a small box of truffles. The perfect touch. I love trying new restaurants…this one will be revisited for sure!

Entry filed under: Austin Eats, Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , , , , , .

Not quite the same…or at all. Snappity Doo – Blog Challenge 2 – Fashion

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  February 17, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Rodney’s a cutie… ML should have no shame in her Jazzercise crush.

    And you and Town are too flipping cute. Crimeny. I shake my fist at cute, happy couples I don’t know (for petty reasons), but my hand falls to my side and is replaced by an “aw…” and cheesetastic grin when I see you two.

    You’re making me rethink my snap judgements! Damn it, Lewey!

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  February 17, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    he is cute!

    i’m glad you’ll despise happy, cute couples a little less now…

    Reply
  • 3. erin :: the olive notes  |  February 21, 2009 at 3:29 am

    what a fun valentine’s day! i just love special dinners out :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Most Recent Posts


