Not quite the same…or at all.

February 13, 2009 at 4:09 pm 7 comments

Yesterday my good friend sent me a link to a blog with one of the most incredible images on it. I’m a huge animal lover…with dolphins being some of my favorite. I couldn’t help but stare at the image for a few minutes. It’s so joyful and surreal! So then another friend gave me the idea of recreating it.

picture-31

DONE.

That’s what I was going to do once I got home with my all-time favorite animal. As you can see I failed epically. I blame some of the failure on Alex who was unable to get Saci to stand on the correct side of the glass sliding door. I also blame myself for not looking more like the aquatic creature who is featured in the real image.

dsc03985

Yesterday was also the first day that Saci realized she was cooler than me. She was inconsolable for the rest of the evening. Perhaps a piece of bacon or fresh salami will put me right back on top. She’s a slave to treats.

In case you’re wondering about the origins of the awesome dolphin/zebra image you can read about it here.

It was taken at Six Flags Discovery Kingdom in Vallejo, California. Beauregard, an 8-month old Grants Zebra takes daily strolls around the park. On this particular day he was greeted by Brandy, an Atlantic bottlenose dolphin.

Who names a zebra Beauregard? I can think of a number of infinitely cooler names on the spot. Like Moose or Zoolander. uhhh yeahhhh

It’s images like those that reaffirm that my true calling is to be a dolphin trainer. I’m making dolphin noises RIGHT NOW…in my head. If I were to do it out loud I think I’d frighten a few people, but only a few.

Entry filed under: Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , , , , , .

Narcissism is a 10-letter word Valentines Day / Austin Eats – Olivia

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  February 13, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Yesterday was also the first day that Saci realized she was cooler than me.

    AHHHH! I just lol’d. And you actually do look like a happy aquatic creature in that picture. I can almost hear you going “mrehhhH!”

    As for Saci, she’ll just have to deal with the burden of being awesome. It’s not that bad… I should know.

    P.S. Bacon is on the “not for dogs” list of food. I believe Town would agree, as he read the entire list to me when I visited.

    P.P.S. I love your shoes.

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  February 13, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    haha. after a second glance my hands could be interpreted as little raptor-esque fins i guess!

    also no worries, i never give Saci bacon. EVER. it’s just a popular dog treat so i threw it in there for relatability!

    thanks for the shoe compliment…i got them a few years ago for $19.99. schwing!

    Reply
  • 3. Leah  |  February 13, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    hilarious – esp the part about your dog realizing she’s cooler than you. :)

    Reply
  • 4. Brian Kirk  |  February 13, 2009 at 5:18 pm

    nice grill :)

    Reply
  • 5. erynchandler  |  February 13, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    leah: she’s def cooler than me

    bk: we love the grill…it’s pretty much all we’ve been cooking on lately. me gusta grilled corn on the cob. and part of the reason we didn’t get a better picture is because alex was hurrying us along…he had sausages grilling.

    Reply
  • 6. erin :: the olive notes  |  February 13, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    i love that photo! (I’ll keep you guessing which one I mean!) ha :)

    Reply
  • 7. Monika  |  February 16, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Erin, what is your email address? I have to send you a photo :) I love dolphins too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Most Recent Posts


