Happy World Nutella Day!

February 4, 2009 at 10:45 pm 14 comments

picture-13How much do I love Nutella you ask?

Way too freakin’ much! It gets to the point where my answer to the above question gets tiring and overwhelming. I just don’t think I have the words to describe it. Perhaps the words below will help you understand…my sickness:

I’ve mentioned/posted/screamed/cried about how much this chocolatey, hazelnutty spread means to me! It’s just the best thing EVER. And the fact that thousands, nay, millions of people in this world feel the exact same way about it…makes me a happy little addict! Thanks for the empathy folks!

dsc03929

I think the crazy meter for the above image is measuring off the charts. I thought it’d be cute to smear Nutella on my face. That idea = not cute! Don’t even ask to see the other Nutella smeared face pictures. Alex snapped away without notice…I still can’t believe I let this one out of the vault!

Although, I’d love to meet the person (more than likely a woman) who really does need/love Nutella more than me. I bet there are about 3.424 people that maybe fit this description.

To find them I’d ask them the following questions:

1.) Do you only allow yourself to buy Nutella biannually?

2.) If and when you buy it does it have a shelf life more than 48 hours?

3.) When you have it in the pantry do you wake up thinking about it?

4.) Do you think about it so much and crave it so much…that you feel shameful?

5.) Does the shame take over and thus, you feel the only appropriate way to eat Nutella is quickly, in a dark pantry, and with your back turned on the world?

6.) Driving home from work, do you hope you beat your significant other home so that you can enjoy about 2-14 minutes of silent Nutella ingesting?

7.) Do you prefer your Nutella in its purest form? On a spoon…with ice cold 1% milk on the side?

8.) If you found a knife in the sink (left by your significant other) with globs of Nutella still left on it…would you pull it out and lick clean?

I feel the questionaire is sufficient…is there anything I’m missing? By the way, don’t feel sorry for me people. I don’t need your pity! And yes, my life is really as sad as it seems!

Below is my second favorite way to eat Nutella! In a crepe with strawberries! I wrote about my first Nutella crepe experience here…and guess where Alex and I are going this weekend to have more?

Crepes con Nutella e Fragole (Crepes with Nutella and Strawberries)

first you have to gather a few things: 1 C all-purpose flour, 2 eggs, 1/2 C milk, 1/2 C water, 1/4 tsp. salt, 2 tbsp. butter (melted), gobs of Nutella, freshly cut strawberries

1.) to prepare the crepes: in a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour and eggs
2.) gradually add the milk and water, stirring to combine
3.) add the salt and butter, stir until smooth
4.) heat a lightly oiled griddle/frying pan over medium high heat
5.) scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approx. 1/4 C for each crepe/tilt the pan with a circular motion so that the batter coats the surface evenly
6). Cook the crepe for about 2 min. on both sides until the it turns a light golden brown
7.) Transfer crepes to a plate wrapped in a towel to retain the heat until you’ve finished the rest
8.) now for the amazing, spread one side of the crepe with EXTREMELY generous amounts of Nutella
9.) add fresh strawberries to your liking, not too many and fold twice (so it’s a quarter of the size it was originally)
10.) top with Nutella drizzles…c’mon you knew that was coming! and enjoy with ice cold milk.

dsc03938

dsc03944

I devoured my ooey gooey delight while watching “Lost,” seriously, what could be better?

Buon Appetito!

P.S. When I sent Alex to the store to gather ingredients for the above recipe I forgot to tell him to pick up strawberries, oops, it just left more room for fabulousness!

Entry filed under: Austin Eats, Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , , , , , .

Austin Eats- Louie’s 106 I have to post again…

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  February 5, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Youuuuuu’re amazing, as you know. And I just know that you made the “MRAH!” noise instead of a “ta-da!” when you were coated in chocolaty hazelnut spread.

    Even Matthew Fox looks like he’s yearning for your dessert. “This island sucks… Nutella crepes, on the other hand…”

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  February 5, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    HAHAHA, I think there probably were a lot of “mrahhhs.” mrah’s for all!

    Matthew Fox so looks like he wants some!

    Reply
  • 3. michelle | bleeding espresso  |  February 5, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    LOVE this Eryn :)

    Reply
  • 4. Leah  |  February 5, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Wow! I think I’m going to pick this stuff up at the store. They should consider you for an advertising job or something. Perhaps PR. :)

    Reply
  • 5. erynchandler  |  February 6, 2009 at 12:54 am

    Michelle! what can I say…Nutella makes me happy!

    Leah I can’t believe you’ve never tried it before. Pick a jar up at HEB pronto!

    Reply
  • 6. nyc/caribbean ragazza  |  February 6, 2009 at 7:15 am

    fantastico!!! I love crepes with Nutella. It’s also delicious on good old pancakes.

    Reply
  • 7. Cherrye at My Bella Vita  |  February 6, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Nutella crepes are the best! My favorite way to have Nutella actually, after straight up!

    Reply
  • 8. Mindy Elle  |  February 6, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    You’re such a cutie. You look very happy with your 2nd chocolate love. :)

    I wanted to let you know about this great Italian place on 43rd st called asti trattoria. Its really good, authentic italian food. You would love it.

    Reply
  • 9. erynchandler  |  February 6, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    nyc/caribbean ragazza: mmmm nutella pancakes! i’ll try those one of these days!

    cherrye: i’m right there with you with the two best ways to eat nutella!

    mindy elle: I’ve heard many a great things about that place! we’d love to go sometime….would you guys want to go with us? alex and i are free the weekend of march 14th (i know a little ways away) but would love to go with with you two!

    Reply
  • 10. Marie  |  February 6, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    What a great way to enjoy my obsession with Nutella!
    How perfect!!

    Reply
  • 11. erin :: the olive notes  |  February 6, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    wait. how did I miss this yesterday?!?!

    Reply
  • 12. Lauren  |  February 7, 2009 at 2:28 am

    I remember asking you one time your favorite thing to eat nutella on and you said… “a spoon!?”

    i will never forget it and relate to too many of your shameful signs of addiction!

    Reply
  • 13. Bleeding Espresso » World Nutella Day 2009: Round-Up  |  February 9, 2009 at 9:23 am

    […] at Cappuccino Chit Chat, Eryn has Nutella crepes. Yum! Eryn also bravely shows herself as we’ve all found ourselves at one point or […]

    Reply
  • 14. Jen  |  November 11, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    WOW that recipe sounds amazing!! Yes I’m an addict, too. Maybe they put a little sprinkle of crack in it to make it extra irresistable?? I’ll take a stab at answering your questions:

    1.) When I first tasted Nutella, I bought a new jar about once every 2 weeks. Then I noticed my jeans weren’t fitting quite the way they used to so now I buy it maybe once every 2 months. I know, I know – it’s torture.
    2.) Yes it lasts longer than 48 hours but more than once it didn’t last more than a week.
    3.) Oh yes.
    4.) Not really. I mean, anyone who’s tasted it would understand.
    5.) I live alone so I don’t have to worry about that ;)
    6.) N/A
    7.) Yeah I usually eat it with a spoon – although I have tried it on bread and on shortbread cookies.
    8.) N/A

    Cool blog – thanks for directing me!

    Jen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Most Recent Posts


