I fell ill…

January 9, 2009 at 4:25 pm 2 comments

…for the second time in two months. ugh. I pride myself on having a super duper immune system. I guess it wasn’t enough for these sicky time months to ward off icky germs!

Wednesday I had to work from home and had to skip swimming that night because I wasn’t up for it. That pissed me off to no end. I was telling people lately, that when I get sick…I get mad. How dare you [illness] keep me from going about my everyday life. Keep me from going into work and screwing up the first week of my new year’s resolution!!!!

I turn into a vigilante and in spite [of the infection/virus having its way with me] will do these things anyway. Which is why last night (Thursday) I went to swim practice. I really felt fine the entire way through except for the, what I’ve dubbed, Satan cramps. Yes that’s right…cramps straight from Satan himself! They first started Monday during my first practice, I got a calf crap unlike any I’d ever experienced before while swimming freestyle. I had to stop and stretch it out in the middle of the pool…since then my calf has been sore!

Last night was a totally different ballgame. They first started in my feet…lovely, I would get these all the time in highschool while swimming. Something to do with always flexing and pointing my toes while kicking and not enough potassium in my diet. Ok, foot cramps, I’ve dealt with you before, I know how to handle this…however, they started working their way up both legs…crapbags! And finally, got to the point where I had to pull myself out of the pool and the coach had to rub them out of my legs. Looking down at my leg I saw muscles I’d never seen before slightly protruding in my calf…no bueno! And no matter what I did for the next 15 minutes they just wouldn’t quit!

So here’s the plan…eat my bananas, tomatoes, potatoes, and avocados! Also, sip a sports drink (preferably gatorade) before practices….and STRETCH even more than I have been! I definitely don’t want those cramps to make a third appearance!

Entry filed under: Everyday Ramblings, Swimming.

Masters Swimming Lickable Design…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian Kirk  |  January 9, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    hope you feel better soon & i recommend you try NUUN before your next swim practice.

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  January 9, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    what’s this NUUN you speak of?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


