Masters Swimming

January 6, 2009 at 7:35 pm 5 comments

Last night I went to my first Masters swim practice. It’s my only New Year’s resolution, to start swimming again…specifically on a Masters team where I’ll have more structure and be able to compete in meets.

picture-22

With the indoor facility being so close to the house I really have no excuse to not go! Last night I met one of the Masters coaches as well as the other 8-10 swimmers that were there. The workout was tough, I knew it would be since I haven’t had a proper practice in six years or so…but it really kicked my butt! I wasn’t used to all of the distance swims….the warmup and first set alone were over 2 miles of yardage!

In any case, I finished it…and feel really comfortable about my ability level compared to the other swimmers! I’m looking forward to the aching feeling in my right shoulder to go away once I get used to the strain again and to not be as clumsy as I was last night after swimming…I was falling all over the place!

I plan to go again this Wednesday and Thursday!

Entry filed under: Swimming.

2008 Reflections I fell ill…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian Kirk  |  January 6, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    cost per month?

    Reply
  • 2. Eryn Chandler  |  January 6, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    $75/month

    includes three practices offered per day and access to their fitness center!

    Reply
  • 3. Kevin Nuut  |  January 7, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    Soon you’ll be able to knock me out with your shoulders.

    Reply
  • 4. Alec  |  January 8, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    She could already knock you out, Kevin – now she just has more options.

    Reply
  • 5. erynchandler  |  January 8, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    oh snap.

    i actually had a sit down with my shoulders the other day and told them they cannot become any broader than they already are!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


