Book Club – “Who By Fire” and Interview with author Diana Spechler

December 28, 2008 at 4:16 pm 3 comments

wbfIn need of a great read going into the New Year? I recommend that all readers out there pick up “Who By Fire” by Diana Spechler. I finished this novel a few days ago and immediately started reading the “Insights, Interviews, & More…” in the back of the book. I usually leave those sections for a few days later…I was really sad the story was over!

“Who By Fire” tells a story of a Jewish family from New Jersey that deals with unimaginable heartbreak, loss, and forgiveness. Each member of the family dealing with these separate emotions in their own way, Spechler takes us on a journey of a mother’s desperation, a sister’s plea, and a brother’s repentance.

Upon finishing the book, I contacted Diana to tell her how much I enjoyed her first book and to ask her a few questions!

dsAn Interview with Diana Spechler:

While growing up what did you want to be? Did you have plans of becoming an astronaut or were you always set on writing?

I did NOT want to be an astronaut. Especially after what happened to the Challenger. I always loved to write better than I loved to do anything else. I declared my college major as creative writing when I was still a senior in high school.

Did you name any of your characters after friends/family members?

No. I’m a big fan of names that aren’t really names. I love the name Bits, but I’ve never known a Bits.

Are any of your characters’ personalities based on the personalities of your friends/family members?

My characters are often composites. I will take pieces of lots of people’s personalities and appearances and combine them into a single character. Often, I begin by basing a character on someone I know, but by the time I’ve finished writing the story, the character (at least in my opinion) is unrecognizable. He’s just him; my initial inspiration is forgotten.

What’s your favorite go-to movie…the one you’ve seen at least 20 times?

As an adult, I don’t really re-watch movies. Years ago, when Wayne’s World came out, I must have gone to see it in the theater nine weekends in a row, but (oh my god, wait, did I really just admit that?) now I have so little time to see movies, I don’t like to waste a movie night on a repeat. Okay, wait…except Waiting for Guffman. I can always make time for Waiting for Guffman.

If you could travel anywhere, where would you go and why?

I want to go everywhere. I guess Thailand is on the top of my list right now because everyone says it’s so cheap, and…well, I’m an artist. And we’re in a recession. So.

What’s your best weapon to battle writer’s block?

I keep great fiction near my computer. When I’m blocked, I read it. Currently, that book is a collection of short stories by Rebecca Curtis called Twenty Grand. It’s a masterpiece. I can open it up to any page and feel inspired to write.

What’s one of your long-term goals?

I want to write lots of books and support myself on my writing.

Thanks so much Diana and “happy writing” while you work on your second novel, which is based on Diana’s experiences of working at a weight loss camp!

Entry filed under: Book Club. Tags: , , .

Christmas Candy Galore! 2008 Reflections

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  December 29, 2008 at 3:57 am

    Good timing on this post – I’ve been looking for a new read to pick up! I just checked out the full synopsis and this definitely sounds like it would hit the spot. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 2. Alex  |  December 31, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Sounds like an awesome book good find

    Reply
  • 3. Kevin Nuut  |  January 7, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Interesting, I’ll have to check out the book. I need a cure for artist’s block, that’s for sure. I’m glad to run into another avid fan of Wayne’s World.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


