Christmas Candy Galore!

December 24, 2008 at 2:40 am 5 comments

Last year I didn’t have this problem. The one where you eat way too many sweets at Christmas time…because they’re just around the house. That’s because I was smart last year.

picture-19

This year, I decided that since Alex and I are now living in our very own home together that we’d establish some traditions. Nobody ever warned me, but if not monitored more closely next year, these candy traditions will turn into…”Let’s get Fat and Unhealthy Together” traditions!

picture-25

It’s a little out of control now! I made way too many Buckeyes (peanut butter smothered with chocolate goodness), Cherry Bars (amazing cherry, coconutty amazingness), and then of course the assorted treats we’ve received from others! Thank goodness (seriously) that my toffee making went awry, instead of delicious, crunchy sweetness I have a mixture that looks and feels like butter…butter with lots of sugar and some chocolate in it. Yup, I screwed ’em up big time! Something about not letting the bubbling, molten butter mixture get hot enough on the stove before pouring onto a cookie sheet to cool! oopsie……aka phew!

Making the treats was fun…instead of our house smelling like a new house that has just been painted (twice), our house smelt of chocolate, cinnamon, and butter. mmmmm butter. And whilst stirring, balling, and pouring I listened to Charlie Brown’s Christmas soundtrack. The one with the humming children that conjures up images of ice skating outside and small, pathetic Christmas trees!

Next year, I’ll still make Christmas treats…but we’re only keep a sixteenth of what I make. I hear others like receiving Christmas candy…not just my tummmmayy!

Entry filed under: Austin Eats, Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , , , .

Political Mojo for our Tree! Book Club – “Who By Fire” and Interview with author Diana Spechler

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  December 25, 2008 at 5:03 am

    I baked like a fiend during the snow storm… except I was literally stuck in the house with piles of cookies and a cheesecake… it was like being stuck in the house with a crazy person… except the crazy person was me… and butter was my weapon.

    “The call was coming from inside the house!”

    Those buckeye things look pretty badass, I have to say.

    And, ya know what? Getting a little messy and going a wee bit overboard is the only way to christen a new kitchen. Kudos. It’s officially yours – in name and spirit!

    Reply
  • 2. Eryn  |  December 26, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    the buckeyes are badass…there is ONE waiting for you in the fridge! we pick you up from the airport in two hours weeeeeeee!

    Reply
  • 3. Roland  |  December 27, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    I can totally understand…you know that I am in the same position. Did that toffee I gave you ever make it home? :-)

    Reply
  • 4. Eryn  |  December 28, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    that toffee was amazing. and yes, it did make it home. but alex got none :-)

    Reply
  • 5. Kevin Nuut  |  January 7, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    These were delicious, fact.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


