Napoletana Ugly Dog is Famous!

September 19, 2008 at 5:35 pm 12 comments

When Alex and I were in Naples this past May we would come across the same dog everyday, it must have belonged to the owner/employee of the newspaper stand that existed nearby. Now, in Naples you see “gangs” of homeless dogs everywhere, but we took notice to this dog because of how fugly it was (fat + ugly). It was always lounging about, proudly displaying its crazy snaggletooth!

Alex deemed it to be “Uncle Jeffrey.”

Just yesterday I discovered a new blogger here. She lives in the Spanish Quarter of Naples (same area we saw Uncle Jeffrey while we were there). Please go see this post and scroll down a bit!

:-) I love this kind of stuff….apparently it’s a “she,” from now on we will refer to her as Aunt Jeffrey!

p.s. I just did a google search and look what I found….again!

Entry filed under: Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , .

How did I get on THIS mailing list? Book Club – “Tales of a Female Nomad”

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  September 19, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    From the angle of your photo, I couldn’t tell what a… delicate animal that was! I submit that its snaggletooth is its best feature. Truly the canine Jabba the Hutt of Napoli.

    Reply
  • 2. Kevin Nuut  |  September 19, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    I love the void, glossed over look in it eyes. I think the dog might be mentally handicapped (relative to a dog).

    Reply
  • 3. Kevin Nuut  |  September 19, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    WTF, half day Fridays? I was going to ask your help on something too…

    Reply
  • 4. erin :: the olive notes  |  September 19, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    HA! That’s hilarious! He’s not he one eating spagetti right?

    Reply
  • 5. Eryn Chandler  |  September 19, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    alec: he is a delicate animal isn’t he?

    kevin: the boss said i could split….what’s a girl to do? and i figured your question could wait ’til monday!

    erin: nope, the spaghetti eating dog was in Sorrento! There are canine characters all over Italy :-)

    Reply
  • 6. Kevin Nuut  |  September 20, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    It was personal help. I needed a female to pose for an art project I’m finishing up today (Saturday). Le sigh.

    Reply
  • 7. Alec  |  September 20, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    I had to look at this again… the dog has cankles.

    And from the angle in the other picture, it’s like a Pillsbury dinner roll gone wrong. Amazing.

    You definitely need to post its Florentine equivalent. He was a scamp.

    (Scamp!)

    Reply
  • 8. Eryn Chandler  |  September 21, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    ahhh cankles……they’re so unfortunate, even in the canine form.

    Scamp…..you know how much i LOVE that word!

    “scrappy” is another I adore, apparently, it’s the trait I take on when I drink!

    Reply
  • 9. Monika  |  September 22, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Wow, that’s a fat dog!!! I don’t see so many stray dogs in Florence as much as stray cats.

    Reply
  • 10. mentalmosaic  |  September 27, 2008 at 8:30 am

    HILARIOUS! There is just something so photogenic about this street pooch. She looks pretty scary, and yet she is so mellow. I always find her napping in high-traffic areas. She just expects everyone to step around her and they do. I’ve also seen her dining on leftover pasta. This being Italy, after all, people take pity on the street dogs and give them leftover spaghetti. I’m not kidding!

    Thanks for swinging by my blog and for pointing out this famous pooch. Maybe I should take more photos and make a collection of Neapolitan Pooch Trading Cards.

    Ciao from Naples!
    ~Tui

    Reply
  • 11. Eryn Chandler  |  September 27, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Yes, hilarious, I couldn’t believe it when I saw her on your blog :-)

    speaking of feeding Italian dogs pasta…when we were in Sorrento we saw a dog owner feeding his pooch penne with dog food smeared on top.

    Luckily I got a picture just in time!

    Reply
  • 12. jda  |  August 15, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    this dog is fat as hell

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


