Austin Eats – Brunch at Chez Zee

August 24, 2008 at 9:52 pm 4 comments

Alex and I made plans with Brian and Kristin to enjoy Sunday brunch together at nearby Chez Zee. The restaurant has been a local fav for many years and they recently received accolades in August’s issue of Austin Monthly for their great brunch.

After reading the brunch article with multiple featured restaurants I felt compelled to try all that stuck out to me. We met our friends at the restaurant and played some surprisingly competitive games of Connect Four while we waited to be seated in their lush, shabby chic patio area. There were many parties milling around waiting for their seats…a good sign :-)

After taking our seats I drank a tall glass of fresh orange juice and happily ate the flaky croissant that came with our meals with accompanying strawberry butter……mmmm (tip: mix room temp butter with strawberry jam for your next breakfast/brunch partay:-)

Choosing an item off the menu proved to be insanely difficult as the place had so many creative choices. I opted for the famous Creme Brulee French Toast…continuing my quest to discover the perfect dessert form of French Toast. If you remember, I’m crazy for South Congress Cafe’s Carrot Cake French Toast. Kristin ordered the Maryland Crab Cake Eggs Benedict (my other choice), Alex ordered the Zee Migas, and Brian ordered the shrimp and lobster omelette.

My Creme Brulee FT Platter came with enough food for three people…not lying. Another example of American super-sized portions that in return turn us into roly polies left to scratch our heads wondering why Europeans are so thin?!?!

Enough about the gigantic portions, the french toast was brilliant and came served resembling a piece of cake (great) and came with two eggs and a serving or their home fries (which left a little to be desired I felt).

Kris’s Crab Cake Eggs Benedict was molto tasty as were Alex’s migas…and because Brian doesn’t share I can’t report back about his lobster/shrimp omelette!

And if you’re wondering which French Toast wins…the Carrot Cake or the Creme Brulee…it would be the Carrot Cake (in a landslide) :-) I’m glad we went so I can now cross the Chez Zee brunch off our list of “to-eats.” However, once in the car I told Alex that I wanted to “apple – zee” what had just happened at “Chez Zee” (mac users….you know what I’m talkin about). Just because I ate way too much and hours later can still feel the heavy food churning uncomfortably in my tummy.

Next on the list………Fonda San Miguel (for a special occasion) and Threadgills for their Soul Food inspired brunch (sounds healthy:-)

Entry filed under: Austin Eats. Tags: , .

Acupuncture…friend or foe? “No Way, No How, No McCain”

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brian Kirk  |  August 24, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    the crab & shrimp omelette was amazing & i rule at connect 4! thanks for joining us for brunch. we had a great time. CP baby!!!

    oh, we are no longer cat owners :) gabby is now cubbie’s new mommy.

    Reply
  • 2. *G  |  August 25, 2008 at 11:19 am

    it’s always great to try out new places to eat, isn’t it?
    It’s def one of my favorite passtimes.
    I never eat butter, only with strawberry jam I do.. I didn’t even know something like strawberry butter existed as such!
    I’m curious to read your next restaurant report!

    Reply
  • 3. Alec  |  August 25, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    And if you’re wondering which French Toast wins…the Carrot Cake or the Creme Brulee…it would be the French Toast (in a landslide)

    Which one?? You didn’t actually type it… Such suspense! I’m betting it’s the carrot cake one since you’re weird like that and prefer vegetables with walnuts as your breakfast instead of dessert. Very unAmerican.

    They have the recipe on the restaurant’s website, so I may just have to find myself some Challah bread and try that shiz for myself… and pretend I’m dining in Austin… sigh.

    Reply
  • 4. erynchandler  |  August 25, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    alec: wow, i reread that post twice before i posted it…..i blame it on the food induced coma i had after leaving the place!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


