With a little encouragement and some Olympic Inspiration…

August 19, 2008 at 4:29 pm 3 comments

I’ve decided to sign up for Masters swimming! I swam competitively throughout much of middle school and all of high school and am wanting to get back into the swing of things. Unlike 6 years ago when I was swimming doubles (two practices a day) each consisting of about 5500 yards (a little over three miles per practice) I will take in about 3-5 practices a week each consisting of a little over 2 miles.

A huge factor in me deciding to start masters is one of my old coaches Mike opened a great indoor swimming facility called Nitro Swimming just a 5 min. drive from where our new house is going to be. This will make getting in the pool a lot easier! Mike is one of the best coaches I’ve ever been around, he knows the first and last name of every kid in his pool (of all age groups) and makes everything his business. Beyond that he has to be one of the most positive people I’ve ever met!

Two years ago Mike came to me with his idea for opening a swim facility and asked for me to design the logo. Now I see the logo all over Austin as proud parents display it on their back wind shields and little kiddos run around in their swim team t-shirts!

This past Saturday I drove out to the Nitro Swim Club for the first time and was amazed at how beautiful the pool is. It’s huge and is accompanied by a smaller/shallower swim lesson pool. And along with swimming masters I’ll also have access to the fitness center which includes tread mills, free weights, weight machines, and much more!

I jumped in for a “pre” workout where I followed the Masters Workout that was drawn up on the pool deck. I really pushed myself, which was tough, being the first work out I’ve completed over 2.2 miles in 6 years! The water felt great but my muscles ached after the first 500 yards.

Upon completion I drove back home and very slowly made my way up the 3 flights of stairs to our apartment. Needless to say the next four hours were spent napping about and eating (swimming makes you soooo hungry)!

It’s been three days and my shoulders are still sore! Can’t wait to get back in though :-)

Entry filed under: Summer in Austin, Swimming. Tags: , .

Austin Eats – Vivo Austin Eats – Zocalo Cafe

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  August 20, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I’m so proud of you :) And I’m glad you’re having fun, too!

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  August 20, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    awww thanks twin!

    Reply
  • 3. shirley  |  August 28, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Oh I’m so envious. I really really miss my Masters swimming back in NZ, so much fun…Don’t worry about the sore muscles, give yourself a couple of weeks and you will be back into it before you know it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


