Cross Country Book Club

August 2, 2008 at 6:07 pm 10 comments

A few weeks ago I made a pact with myself to read more. More books, more magazine articles, more cnn.com……Just Read More! I’d have to admit that I’ve acquired most of my worldly knowledge through the Food Network, the Travel Channel, TLC, and the Discovery Channel. All are great resources, but there’s just something about the written word that transcends all other aspects of media.

In the beginning of April Alex took me to a Thai cooking class at a woman’s house in NE Austin. I even wrote a post about it :-) There we met three other Thai cooking novices, one of whom was married to a novelist by the name of Amanda Eyre Ward. The lady teaching the class, Jam, had even read her latest novel and raved about how great it was! I took his wife’s name and finally four days ago…

…I bought the book and just finished it this morning. Forgive Me is an extremely quick and enjoyable read. I’m one of the unlucky ones burdened with “slow reading syndrome” but find that only effects me with material I’m not interested in reading…makes senes! Ward’s way of storytelling is effortlessly descriptive and subtle at the same time.

With her dazzling prose and resonant themes, Amanda Eyre Ward has joined the ranks of such beloved American novelists as Anne Tyler and Ann Patchett. Gripping, darkly humorous, and luminous, Forgive Me is an unforgettable story of dreams and longing, betrayal and redemption.

So yes, I’m reading more. And even though my favorite Rhode Islander is a well-read lass already we’ve decided to enroll ourselves in our very own book club. Basically each of us will read three books and upon completion will send them to one another. Thus expanding our minds with six books for the price of three + shipping!

I already purchased my next two books on Amazon and am expecting Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidentially and A Bone in the Throat. I’m extremely excited to read both. Bourdain would definitely be one of the 3 guests I’d invite to my imaginary celebrity dinner party, Ellen Degenerous being the second, and the third is TBD! Anthony’s “No Reservations” gets DVRed every week. I’m addicted to his sarcastic cynicism and knowledgeable outlook concerning the nasty bits.

What are you reading? Obama’s “The Audacity of Hope” is also on my book queue…any other suggestions would be much appreciated!

Entry filed under: Book Club. Tags: , , , , , , .

Farewell Scrabulous… My Weekend…..phlog!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  August 3, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    I better be your favorite RI’er. Did you know actor James Woods is from RI? T’is true. Also, he’s a member of MENSA… which is just… unexpected.

    Not gonna lie – I’m definitely looking forward to the Bourdain readings… big time. At my imaginary celeb dinner party, I’d probably have Tina Fey, Jeff Bridges, and… I dunno. Someone else cool. If we pooled our parties, I think the sass meter would max out.

    I’ve figured out 2 out of 3 books that I’m going to send to you. There might be a collection of short stories in there as well… it’s a mystery! As to what book I’m going to send you – not the genre of the book itself… that was unnecessarily complicated.

    Reply
  • 2. Eryn Chandler  |  August 3, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    i did not know James Woods was from RI….and to be completely honest, I just had to google him. He’s one of those guys where you know their face rather than their name.

    I’m so looking forward to this book club. I’m willing Amazon to send me the Bourdain books PRONTO!

    and yes, if we merged our two 2/3 complete dinner parties we would definitely have the sass going on. Because Tina Fey rocks.

    Reply
  • 3. erin :: the olive notes  |  August 4, 2008 at 1:45 am

    Audacity of Hope is a good book for sure. If you haven’t read City of Falling Angels, I’d highly recommend this book (about Venice)!

    Reply
  • 4. Eryn Chandler  |  August 4, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    erin: thanks for the tip. I think Alex listened to City of Falling Angels on tape. he loved it!

    Reply
  • 5. Alec  |  August 5, 2008 at 1:27 am

    Tina Fey does rock. And I’ll be sending you the first batch of books SOON. And I just ordered another batch from amazon and I’m molto excited to read them. Two young female authors (The World To Come and Man Walks Into a Room) and one old man (No Country for Old Men)… you know – just for balance.

    Reply
  • 6. erynchandler  |  August 5, 2008 at 3:25 am

    eeeeeeee!!!!!! I can’t wait…..and my last two books NEED to arrive so I can get started!!!!

    Reply
  • 7. Alex  |  August 6, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Hey look i can comment now on here without signing up, yay for wordpress. I do not like the design of the Bordain book cover boo.

    Reply
  • 8. erynchandler  |  August 6, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    he should have me design it!

    Reply
  • 9. *Belgian  |  August 7, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    I’m not sure how I came across your blog, but I really like it!
    I just finished The Kite Runner and am now reading a book by Beppe Severgnini called an Italian in Italy. It’s always nice to find blogs about books, so I get some ideas.

    Reply
  • 10. Eryn Chandler  |  August 7, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    Belgian: thanks for the compliment….I’ll go check out the books you’ve recommended!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


