Just Say No to Pithy Oranges: Blog Challenge 2008, Day 5

July 13, 2008 at 1:41 pm 4 comments

(my) Theme: Write about the highlight of your day today, as well as something you’re excited for in the near future!

Alright, so if there’s a contest going on with our seven day blog challenge…..well I may have just lost. BECAUSE…we got home last night from a long day of running around and singing Happy Birthday that instead of going upstairs to post……I dropped into bed. ugh…..you win atown.

you usually do :-)

The highlight of my day today was skipping (driving) downtown with Alex, my friend Sonia, and friend Eduardo to Flip Happy. Remember…..the place that I couldn’t stop talking about here! This time I was on a mission since the last time we got all the way to the front of the line and had to leave because we had complainers in our groups. As I type I still get bitter.ugh….anyway, it was hot…..but we were in the shade and with good company as we waited a little over an hour for our three Cuban and one Moroccan savory crepes (all four of us got the nutella and strawberry sweet crepe). While waiting we enjoyed the folky tunes of a local guitarist as he sang in French (how fitting), Spanish, and English! And he wore a torn up cowboy hat…….perfect!

They called our names and we ran to pick up the wonderfully wrapped treats. The Cuban I enjoyed was fabulous (filled with pulled pork, white cheddar, mustard, pickles, and a hint of tobasco). And the sweet crepe, I don’t even have to say that I enjoyed it because you all know that I did :-)

I also made delicious strawberry cupcakes with cream cheese icing from scratch for my mom’s 52nd birthday celebration. So that was a welcome surprised that they came out so well!

As for things we’re looking forward to in the near future………I have lots. sorry. But I’m an excited girl nowadays. And Alec, you’re right, there was a reason for this topic today because…….as of late last week Alex and I have decided to build a house in Cedar Park. We’ve been doing the whole “house hunt” thing since before 2008 and we’ve finally found a solution that we can both live with. Cedar Park is a suburb of Austin just about 7-10 min. north of where we already live. The community in Silverado Ranch is planned and so cute. We even picked a lot already on…..wait for it……Henry Rifle Rd. Oh man, I’m still working on trying to embrace the name that reeks of Texan pride. Oy, our northern friends will NEVER let us live this one down!

Another reason why Alec and I are both twins is because I too am stoked for the Beijing games set to start on August, 8 2008. I watch pretty much every event. I am strangely drawn to sporting events that come around every 4 years…..the Olympics……the World Cup…you get the picture! Since I was a swimmer for a long time the swimming events are my absolute favorite. But I do enjoy watching gymnastics, track and field, diving, syncro swimming (for real), and even rowing. I’ve planned to have a Chinese themed opening ceremony party already…..dork!

And of course….ever since Alec said she was coming down the Texas way I can’t stop thinking about how awesome that trip will be! Knock on wood…..if everything goes as planned the new house will be done by then :-)

Entry filed under: Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , .

Just Say No to Pithy Oranges: Blog Challenge 2008, Day 4 Just Say No to Pithy Oranges: Blog Challenge 2008, Day 6

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  July 13, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    It was so serendipitous – I was reading the issue of Food & Wine from May yesterday afternoon, and they had an article on Flip Happy! With that same pic!

    And congratulations again on becoming a homeowner. Exciting times, indeed!

    (I crack me up.)

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  July 14, 2008 at 3:20 am

    i can’t believe you were reading an article about them!!!! the place has become way more popular. lines are crazy!

    and the pic is awesome. psbtw. the crepe boy in the trailer making the fantastic delights was HOTTTTTTTT with ten capital H’s.

    I wanted to snap him…….for you.

    he was a CUTER version of this guy:

    http://www.imdb.com/media/rm2745012736/nm0004978

    Reply
  • 3. erynchandler  |  July 14, 2008 at 3:21 am

    *snag him

    Reply
  • 4. Brian Kirk  |  July 14, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    congrats on the home purchase. we *may* be neighbors. we can celebrate together soon. also, we can swap home gardening tools for the first few months :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


