Just Say No to Pithy Oranges: Blog Challenge 2008, Day 2

July 9, 2008 at 9:56 pm 3 comments

Theme: Who is your favorite artist and why?

Well…..thanks a lot Barnesy, talk about a tough decision. I consider myself a very decisive person but get very indecisive when picking favorites…..of anything. I suddenly feel like I really need to nail my choice because it part encompasses who I am. And I don’t want friends or even total strangers to get the wrong impression of muah.

So here goes. Favorite Artist artist (this post will also include Favorite Music artist :-) is Chuck Close.

I had never heard of him until Freshman year of college in ’02 when one of our 2D foundation projects was based off his work style. Throughout college his name was referenced in many of my classes….probably due to the fact the the close by Toledo Museum of Art featured a decent amount of his work. I even had a Graphic Design professor who had an original Chuck Close hanging at the end of her hallway I noticed once at a dinner party.

What I like about him is the scale he works at. I love large scale artwork, it’s so bold and assertive. I’m also a fan of realistic portraits, which he is a expert with (I mean could the black and white portrait of himself look anymore like a photo…dang!).However, from far away so many of his portraits are spot on but when viewed close up you see that he created the piece by use of a grid that is completely abstract. There is so much more that I could blab on and on about but bottom line…the guy rocks!

Favorite Music artist:

This is another tough one. There are so many individual albums or even tracks of artists that I’m so in love with. But I’d have to say that my overall audio pleaser of choice would have to be Ms. Joss Stone. Her name alone is rock star…not to mention her buttery, soulful lullabies that send me into a trance every time. It helps that I was introduced to her while studying in Italy in ’04. So whenever I’m listening to her album “Mind, Body, and Soul” I’m brought right back to the cobblestone streets of Firenze!

Her newest album is equally fantastic and I never get tired of listening to her soothing and/or upbeat melodies. And she performs barefoot in cute little ensembles…you’ve got to lover her!

Entry filed under: Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , .

Just Say No to Pithy Oranges: Blog Challenge 2008, Day 1 Just Say No to Pithy Oranges: Blog Challenge 2008, Day 3

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. erin :: the olive notes  |  July 10, 2008 at 1:36 am

    chuck close is in my top 5 favorite artists too. Love his old portraits and his newer ones with all the colors in the squares! I saw a documentary on him with how he does it…amazing.

    Reply
  • 2. Eryn Chandler  |  July 10, 2008 at 2:54 am

    I saw a documentary on it too….didn’t he have a disability that inhibited free movement.

    i remember something like that………but yeah, he’s pretty slick!

    Reply
  • 3. Alec  |  July 10, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    PL, another reason why were twinz: “I suddenly feel like I really need to nail my choice because it part encompasses who I am. And I don’t want friends or even total strangers to get the wrong impression of muah (moi).” I feel the saaaame! I get so bogged down in it… cause I maybe kind of judge people by their favorites. I don’t think I could be friends with someone who has The Da Vinci Code as their favorite book. It’s just one of those things.

    I didn’t know CC was one of your favorites… but I should have! It definitely makes sense. I’ve always been kind of ambivalent about him and Pop Art in general – I’ll have to take a more in-depth look.

    And you’re right – he suffered from a spinal injury a couple decades back (I think) and is now in a wheelchair. But he keeps doing what he’s doing… balls out, man. Balls out and about.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


