Just Say No to Pithy Oranges: Blog Challenge 2008, Day 1

July 9, 2008 at 1:52 am 3 comments

Theme: Describe an unexpected/quirky/bizarre experience had during your last trip to Europe.

This one was tough…there were a lot of things during our last trip to Italia (my motherland) that proved to be unexpected….a little bit quirky….and always bizarre (see pic of dog eating penne pasta with dog food on top)! However, I decided to choose one thing that blew my mind…as well as Alex’s.

My favorite food is authentic Italian……yes? Yes! It is! I’m always cooking it here in the States as my go to food genre and we go out and order Italian ALL THE TIME. So why, when I’m in the mecca of the greatest Italian food for 3 whole weeks do I become so mind numbingly sick of it after a whopping 4 days! Yes…..this really happened. I think it started happening one day when I ordered a mediocre plate of mushroom risotto…at a place that I thought was going to be spectacular. 

Another reason I think it may have happened is because whenever we’re in Italy I find it necessary to eat whatever I want whenever I want it. My general frame of mind being, “we’re rarely here…when’s the next time I’m going to be able to eat 3 pastries for breakfast….or a gelato every three hours.” So I may have burnt myself out quickly.

Whatever the reason it was a bit frustrating. In Florence, Rome, and Naples we were able to feast on almost any type of cuisine…kabobs (a fan favorite), burritos, Chinese…heck we even tried Turkish food for the first time while in Naples.

However, in Positano the food gods were not on my side. Italian restaurants seemed to be the only type we happened upon wherever we went in the small town. Which is fine…we WERE in Italy. I just found it to be a bit sad that I was craving falafel and Indian food while I was in the birthplace of pasta and pizza.
Don’t get me wrong though, we had plenty of Italian food……just not as much as we had expected. Alex on the other hand wanted to eat his own Margherita pizza for every meal. We counted and he consumed something in the ballpark of 12 pizzas during our entire stay.

Some food highlights from our trip include:

1. The legendary meal 11 of us shared at Il Latini in Florence. The quality and sheer volume of the food we consumed was impeccable. Goes down as my number 1 meal of all time.

2. The stuffed zucchini flowers Alex and I shared at Cafe Positano in……you guessed it, Positano. The view we had from our outdoor table were the most beautiful I’ve ever seen while eating.

3. The wonderful pastries in both Positano and Naples….especially Naples the city of sfogliatelle and Nutella stuffed anything.

4. The monumental breakfast we enjoyed on the rooftop of Hotel Vesuvio in Naples. The most lavish breakfast set against the beautiful bay of Naples.

5. The Margherita pizza at Pizzeria Brandi in Naples. Hands down the best pizza I’ve ever eaten…scarfed down at the birthplace of the Margherita!

6. The carciofi all Romana (Roman artichokes) eaten many times as appetizers in Rome. So buttery and delicious.

7. The shameful, sinful Crepe con Nutella that I awkwardly ate in Campo de’ Fiori in Rome.

8. And finally…….sad gelato eaten in Florence. First with Alec where we had mini panic attacks after seeing Sad Gelato man and second on our last night in Florence. Cookies and Amarena…..mmmmmm.

 
Buon Appetito!

Entry filed under: Everyday Ramblings. Tags: , .

“Challenge extended…challenge accepted!” Just Say No to Pithy Oranges: Blog Challenge 2008, Day 2

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alec  |  July 9, 2008 at 2:03 am

    A number of things…

    Uno: I love that Nutella crepe pic… but I love the “after” shot so much more!

    Due: Drunken A-Town pic? NO bueno!

    Tre: The zucchini flower – I’m still drowning in jealousy over that – it looks so… beaaaautiful… but then again, I had amazing falafel in Valencia… perhaps we are even… for now.

    Quattro: Pastries and cappuccino for breakfast – if there’s anything I learned from Italians it was that THAT is the best way to start one’s day.

    Cinque: I feel like the dog in the first pic was being filmed for a Disney movie, what with its graying hair and delicate eating manners.

    E finalemente, sei: I still “eeeeeeeee!” when I see the SGM picture. Can’t believe it! I like to think that we totally turned him from SGM to HGM… even just for that evening.

    Reply
  • 2. erin :: the olive notes  |  July 9, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    1. So glad I got to see the photo with the dog. I remember you telling us about him.
    2. All the food looks amazing and it’s making me hungry
    3. YAY! I finally get to see sad gelato man. Now I’ll know who to look for next time :)

    Reply
  • 3. erynchandler  |  July 9, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    alec: yes we are even….spanish falafel is one of my most cherished things :-) and yes the italians REALLY know how to do breakfast right……but this hotel man. they did buono. the options were endless!

    erin: i’m glad you got to see the pasta eating dog as well.

    and YES next time you’re in Florence stop by to see Sad Gelato Man on via Faenza!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


