MY SWIM MEET, oh yeah and the rest of my weekend…

May 17, 2009 at 9:52 pm 5 comments

So the swim meet went well. Not great, but good. We got there about 25 minutes into the warm up which caused me to freak out repeatedly on the way up there. Especially when we had to stop and get directions.

“WHAT ARE WE GOING TO DOOOOO?”

was my reaction when we made a wrong turn and had to turn around. Frantic Eryn was in full swing. You could tell especially when we parked the car as I was 28948503 steps ahead of both my mom and Alex ready to plunge into the warm up pool the first chance I got.

Turns out, I was worried for nothing. I had more than enough time to warm up and do a few practice starts off the blocks. To my surprise our friends Kearney and Robin showed up as well to cheer me on. I was really touched by the gesture, especially since they had to wake up at 7am on their Saturday morning.

I was signed up for five events and had no clue that Masters meets run A LOT quicker than the meets I was used to in high school. Instead of 87 heats separating my events from each other I only had one heat separating my first two events. EEK. Especially since my first two events were my hardest. You can see me swimming the 200 free in the below video that Alex took. (You can’t miss me, I’m the blinding white spot in lane 2). You can also hear my mom exclaim during the first 50 yards, “Pick up the pace.” Yayyy. Unfortunately, I listed my best high school time as my seed time and was thus put into a heat with people who could still swim that time…I on the other hand cannot. And in this video it shows….so yes, I do come in last in this event, and to save me misery Alex said he stopped taping when he realized that. AWWW how sweet of him.

Despite the pain and overall fatigue that came around with each event I really had a great time. It was nice to be back in the meet atmosphere and there were a handful of NITRO swimmers present that cheered me on.

Someday I’ll swim at another Masters meet, but first I want to get a wee bit stronger in the water…and next time I’ll learn from my mistakes and won’t sign up for more than 3-4 events in one day.

After the meet on Saturday I spent the rest of the day primarily in a horizontal position on a bed or sofa or floor. Drooling was involved as well as Saci snuggles. It’s as if she knew how bad my body was hurting.

Today I had a spotting. A celebrity spotting on South Congress!!!! Let’s just say that I was sitting at a crepe trailer while Alex retrieved the nutella and strawberries crepe from the window. I then peered a great pair of sandals walking by with a great dog attached as well. “What cute sandals!” I exclaimed to myself, although I heard myself gasp. Then I gazed up at the owner of cute footwear and exchanged a lip pursed smile with Drew Barrymore. It was pretty coo!

Entry filed under: Alex, Everyday Austin, Everyday Ramblings, Family, Friends, Swimming. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Big day tomorrow… It’s about that time…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. erin :: the olive notes  |  May 17, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    drew, huh?! (oh yeah…on a first name basis around here ;) ) crazy….does she live there (sometimes at least?)

    Reply
  • 2. erynchandler  |  May 17, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    yes, supposedly she has a house here.

    Reply
  • 3. Gina.  |  May 18, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Eryn,

    This is so inspiring! I was into xc and track in high school, so I totally understand your freaking out and nervousness. I get anxious and emotional just going to a meet.

    and Drew?! How exciting, def a good choice not to freak out and run up to her… maybe after a few more encounters you could become bff’s?!

    The only celebs that run around Toledo are Jamie Farr and Katie Holmes… TomKat were spotted a few weeks ago at a church for a funeral.

    Reply
  • 4. erynchandler  |  May 18, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    Hey Gina! Thanks…and what does XC stand for?

    I’m glad I didn’t run up to her and freak out either. I realized it was her about 2 seconds after the exchange….

    Reply
  • 5. Gina.  |  May 19, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    xc = cross country.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

